

Embargoed Media Release For Release after midnight April 17, 2004

2004 Alberta Book Awards Winners Announced

The Writers Guild of Alberta and the Book Publishers Association of Alberta have once again recognized and celebrated the high level of writing and publishing excellence in Alberta. At their annual awards Gala, held in Calgary on the evening of April 17, the two organizations presented **15 awards** to authors and publishers.

The event was capped with the presentation by **Minister Greg Melchin** of the prestigious **\$25,000 Grant MacEwan Author's Award**, sponsored by Alberta Community Development, which is among the richest awards of its type in Canada.

Award sponsors, CKUA's Chris Allen, publishers and writers from across Alberta celebrated with 200 attendees.

Highlights of this years awards:

- Marty Chan is recognized in the Drama category for *The Forbidden Phoenix*
- Calgary publisher **Broadview Press** is named Publisher of the Year
- multiple genre nominee, **Tim Bowling** takes home the Best Novel award for *The Paperboy's Winter*
- *An Ark of Koans*, published by **The University of Alberta Press**, takes the Trade Fiction award along with the Cover Design and Book Design awards
- the Poetry award goes to **Robert Hilles** for Wrapped Within Again
- **Red Deer Press** receives two awards with two different books: *Hidden Buffalo* succeeds in the Children's Book section, while *In Abby's Hands* gets the nod for Book Illustration



Writers Guild of Alberta 11759 Groat Road Edmonton, AB T5M 3K6 Phone (780) 422-7184 Email: mail@writersguild.ab.ca www.writersguild.ab.ca



Book Publishers Association of Alberta 10523 - 100 Avenue Edmonton, AB T5J 0A8 Phone: (780) 424-5060 Email: info@bookpublishers.ab.ca www.bookpublishers.ab.ca

Winners of the 2004 Alberta Book Awards

WRITING SECTION

Contact: Writers Guild of Alberta, Diane Walton (780) 422-8174 or Jason Hammond (403) 265-2226

Wilfred Eggleston Award for Non-Fiction

Anthony J. Hall, The American Empire and the Fourth World, McGill-Queen's University Press

Howard O'Hagan Award for Short Fiction Jacqueline Baker, A Hard Witching, HarperFlamingoCanada

Georges Bugnet Award for Novel

Tim Bowling, The Paperboy's Winter, Penguin Books

Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama

Marty Chan, The Forbidden Phoenix

R. Ross Annett Award for Children's Literature

Glen Huser, Stitches, Groundwood Books

Stephan G. Stephansson Award for Poetry

Robert Hilles, Wrapped Within Again: Poems New and Selected, Black Moss Press

PUBLISHING SECTION

Contact: Book Publishers Association of Alberta, Katherine Shute or Duncan Turner at (780) 424-5060

Trade Fiction Book of the Year

The University of Alberta Press (Edmonton), *An Ark of Koans* by E.D. Blodgett illustrations by Jacques Brault

Trade Non-Fiction Book of the Year

Hole's (Edmonton), *Lois Hole's Favorite Bulbs: Better Choices, Better Gardens* edited by Jim Hole and Valerie Hole

Educational Book of the Year

Duval House Publishing (Edmonton): *Stories of the Century: World History from 1900 to 2000* by Robert Gardner, Jim Parsons and Lynn Zwicky

Scholarly Book of the Year

University of Calgary Press (Calgary), *The Madwoman in the Academy: 43 Women Boldly Take* on the Ivory Tower by Deborah Keahey and Deborah Schnitzer

Children's Book of the Year

Red Deer Press (Calgary): *Hidden Buffalo* by Rudy Wiebe paintings by Michael Lonechild

Book Cover Design of the Year

The University of Alberta Press (Edmonton), *An Ark of Koans* by E.D. Blodgett illustrations by Jacques Brault, cover design by Alan Brownoff

Book Illustration of the Year

Red Deer Press (Calgary): *In Abby's Hands* by Wendy A. Lewis illustrated by Marilyn Mets and Peter Ledwon

Book Design of the Year

The University of Alberta Press (Edmonton): *An Ark of Koans* by E.D. Blodgett illustrations by Jacques Brault, book design by Alan Brownoff

Publisher of the Year

Broadview Press

The Writers Guild of Alberta and the Book Publishers Association of Alberta would like the express their sincerest thanks to the sponsors of the Alberta Book Awards:

AlbertaViews John Ballem The Banff Centre *Edmonton Journal* Friesens Houghton Boston Kromar Printing McCallum Printing Group McNally Robinson Booksellers Transcontinental Printing The University of Alberta Bookstore Webcom

and two Anonymous Donors