A. Results for 2004 elections:

WHAKATANE DISTRICT COUNCIL DECLARATION OF RESULT OF ELECTION

I hereby declare the result of the election taken on the 9 October 2004 for:

(1) the election of **Mayor of the Whakatane District** to be as follows:

Candidate	No. of Votes
MAYOR	
HAMMOND, Colin	3919
HOLMES, Colin	6296
INFORMAL	1
BLANK	245

I therefore declare the said Colin HOLMES to be elected;

(2) the election of three members of the **Edgecumbe-Tarawera Ward** to be as follows:

Candidate	No. of Votes
EDGECUMBE-TARAWERA WARD COUNCILLOR (3 Councillors)	
EIVERS, Jean	1834
GRAY, Barney	1219
HUTCHINSON, Bill	585
MAJOR, Paul	537
ORR, Russel	1213
RAINFORD, Sue	1143
VAN BEEK, Gerard	964
INFORMAL	5
BLANK	103

I therefore declare the said Jean EIVERS, Barney GRAY, and Russell ORR to be elected;

(3) the election of one member of the **Galatea-Murupara Ward** to be as follows:

Candidate	No. of Votes
GALATEA-MURUPARA WARD COUNCILLOR	
DONEY, Barry John	216
TE KURAPA, Jacob	508
INFORMAL	0
BLANK	25

I therefore declare the said Jacob TE KURAPA to be elected;



(4) the election of one member of the **Taneatua-Waimana Ward** to be as follows:

Candidate	No. of Votes
TANEATUA-WAIMANA WARD COUNCILLOR	
ILES, Andrew	467
TUNUI, Julian	259
INFORMAL	1
BLANK	16

I therefore declare the said Andrew ILES to be elected;

(5) the election of five members of the **Whakatane-Ohope Ward** to be as follows:

Candidate	No. of Votes
WHAKATANE-OHOPE WARD COUNCILLOR (5 Councillors)	
BUTLER, Grant	3274
CHAMBERS, Christine	4836
DOWD, David	4050
FITZPATRICK, Jim	3356
HANLEN, Graeme	4500
HUDSON, Linda	3750
INFORMAL	3
BLANK	143

I therefore declare the said Christine CHAMBERS, David DOWD, Jim FITZPATRICK, Graeme HANLEN, and Linda HUDSON to be elected;

(6) the election of six members of the **Edgecumbe-Tarawera Community Board** to be as follows:

Candidate	No. of Votes
EDGECUMBE-TARAWERA COMMUNITY BOARD MEMBER (6 members)	
BOURK, Graeme	1063
EVANS, Graham	1382
FLYNN, Tony	915
HARVEY, Evan	963
KENDALL, Derek	814
MAJOR, Paul	950
MCINDOE, Clive	1661
OLSEN, Anthony	817
SMEATON, Graham	1063
TAREI, MARY (Te Teko Resident's Assn)	914
WILLIAMS, Tessie	1504
INFORMAL	4
BLANK	200

I therefore declare the said Graeme BOURK, Graham EVANS, Evan HARVEY, Clive MCINDOE, Graham SMEATON, and Tessie WILLIAMS to be elected;



(7) the election of two members of the Murupara Community Board - Galatea-Waiohau Subdivision to be as follows:

Candidate	No. of Votes
MURUPARA COMMUNITY BOARD - Galatea-Waiohau Subdivision (2 Members)	
ADAM, Arthur	214
DONEY, Stephen	145
MAGEE, Carol	180
INFORMAL	0
BLANK	8

I therefore declare the said Adam ARTHER, and Carol MAGEE to be elected;

Date at Whakatane this 14th day of October 2004

Dale Ofsoske ELECTORAL OFFICER

B. Elected Unopposed for 2004 elections:

The following persons were declared elected unopposed when nominations closed 12 noon 20 August 2004:

Murupara Community Board - Murupara Subdivision (3 members):

Awhina Rose CHAPMAN, Melody DELAMERE and Damon JAKEMAN

Murupara Community Board - Te Urewera Subdivision (1 member):

Anthony Chico TE KURAPA

Ohope Beach Community Board (6 members):

Grant BOWATER, Christine BOWERING, Chris DOHRMAN, Hugh LOVELOCK and John MCKILLOP

Taneatua Community Board (6 members):

Les KNOWLES, Dave KYLE, Luke RUITERMAN and Diane YALDEN

Whakatane Community Board (6 members):

George CHAMBERS, Jim FITZPATRICK and Joe HAWAWIRA



C. Results from 2005 by-elections:

As there were insufficient candidates to fill all vacancies at the 2004 triennial elections and following a resignation, by-elections were held on 12 February 2005, the results being:

the election of one member to the Edgecumbe-Tarawera Ward

Candidate	No. of Votes
EDGECUMBE-TARAWERA WARD COUNCILLOR (1 Councillor)	
HUTCHINSON, Bill	241
JOHNSTON, George	529
MAJOR, Paul	168
RAINFORD, Sue	385
SHAW, Brian	320
TUNUI, Julian	496
VAN BEEK, Gerard	326

I therefore declare George JOHNSTON to be elected.

the election of one member to the Ohope Beach Community Board

Candidate	No. of Votes
OHOPE BEACH COMMUNITY BOARD (1 Member)	
POCOCK, Karen	442
VAUGHAN, Neville	369
VIOLICH, Kevin Mervyn	155

I therefore declare the Karen POCOCK, to be elected.

D. Elected Unopposed from 2005 by-elections:

The following persons were declared elected unopposed when nominations closed 12 noon 24 December 2004:

Taneatua Community Board (2 members):

Monty KORA

Whakatane Community Board (4 members):

Neville DELAHUNTY, Ken LYNCH and Ian SEARLE

