[ SEC Home ]
Delivered by ATT
SEBaseball.com Announces 2004 All-SEC Team
05/18/2004 | 
Pictured: Ole Miss first baseman/pitcher Stephen Head (Ole Miss photo)
Pictured: Ole Miss first baseman/pitcher Stephen Head (Ole Miss photo)

TUSCALOOSA, ALA -- SEBaseball.com has selected Ole Miss Sophomore pitcher/first baseman Stephen Head as the 2004 SEBaseball.com SEC Player of the Year. Head, a .360 hitter with eleven homeruns has spearheaded the Rebels into a first place tie in the SEC standings. On the mound, Head has a 6-1 record with 5 saves and a 2.43 ERA.

The SEBaseball.com SEC Pitcher of Year is Florida junior right-hander Justin Hoyman. Hoyman is tied with the SEC lead with ten wins against just a single loss.

Second-year Arkansas head coach Dave Van Horn has been named SEBaseball.com's SEC Coach of the Year. Van Horn has taken a team picked to finish last in the SEC West to a club that is tied for first in the SEC standings entering the final weekend.

The three SEBaseball.com all-SEC teams contain forty-two players. South Carolina led all schools with seven players on the squads. Vanderbilt had five players while Ole Miss, LSU, Florida, Georgia, Vanderbilt, and Alabama placed four each players each on the team. All twelve schools had at least one player represented.

Listed below are the complete squads:

1B Josh Morris, GEORGIA (.341/16/64)
2B Warner Jones, VANDERBILT (.418/7/57)
3B Clay Goodwin, ARKANSAS (.331/4/23)
SS Justin Holmes, GEORGIA (.332/7/46)
C Landon Powell, SOUTH CAROLINA (.356/15/58)
OF Jon Zeringue, LSU (422/11/47)
OF J.C. Holt, LSU (.394/5/37)
OF Brad Corley, MISSISSIPPI STATE (.374/18/49)
UT Stephen Head, OLE MISS (.360/11/47 - 6-1 2.43 5 svs)
DH C.J. Smith, FLORIDA (.368/13/57)
SP Wade LeBlanc, ALABAMA (8-4 1.60)
SP Justin Hoyman, FLORIDA (10-1 2.62)
SP Mark Holliman, OLE MISS (8-2 2.33)
RP Chad Blackwell, SOUTH CAROLINA (3-3 3.30 11 svs)

Player of the Year: Stephen Head
Pitcher of the Year: Justin Hoyman
Coach of the Year: Dave Van Horn

1B Steve Pearce, SOUTH CAROLINA - .337/14/50
2B Spencer Graeter, KENTUCKY (.323/4/31)
3B Josh Smith, GEORGIA (.338/1/32)
SS Scott Hode, ARKANSAS (.315/7/45)
C Craig Tatum, MISSISSIPPI STATE (.341/11/54)
OF Brendan Winn, SOUTH CAROLINA (.349/17/58)
OF Ben Harrison, FLORIDA (.365/14/54)
OF Clete Thomas, AUBURN (.340/4/44)
UT Brian Pettway, OLE MISS (.316/5/27 - 2-3 2.39 2 svs)
DH Alex Suarez, TENNESSEE (.366/3/29)
SP Charley Boyce, ARKANSAS (7-1 3.18)
SP Ryan Mullins, VANDERBILT (6-2 2.72)
SP Jeremy Sowers, VANDERBILT (7-5 3.14)
RP Darren O'Day, FLORIDA (7-1 2.30 5 svs)

1B Cesar Nicolas, VANDERBILT (.317/12/56)
2B Allen Rice, ALABAMA (.355/1/28)
3B Evan Bush, ALABAMA (.321/7/30)
SS Ryan Klosterman, VANDERBILT (.341/6/28)
C Barry Gunther, OLE MISS (.352/2/27)
OF Ryan Patterson, LSU (.331/9/51)
OF Michael Campbell SOUTH CAROLINA (.313/14/46)
OF Caleb Stewart, KENTUCKY (.327/10/34)
UT Josh Bell, AUBURN (.279/10/44 - 3-3 4.44)
DH Nick Stavinoha, LSU (.343/6/38)
SP Aaron Rawl, SOUTH CAROLINA (10-3 4.47)
SP Michael Hyle, GEORGIA (6-1 2.72)
SP Matt Campbell, SOUTH CAROLINA (8-3 3.17)
SP Taylor Tankersley, ALABAMA (2-4 1.64 4 svs)