Welcome toG.I. - GamesIndustry.biz

PRESS RELEASE: Themis Group Launches The Escapist

Press release supplied by Games Press 14:20 12/07/2005

For Immediate Release

Durham, NC – July 12, 2005 –Themis Group Inc., publisher of The Themis Report, is pleased to announce the launch of The Escapist (www.escapistmagazine.com). The Escapist is a new online magazine covering gamers, the gaming industry, and the elusive gaming culture.

The premiere issue, now available, features such well-known authors as Tycho Brahe (www.penny-arcade.com), Kieron Gillen (www.kierongillen.com), and John Tynes (www.johntynes.com). Upcoming issues will include work by Tom Chick, Allen Varney (www.allenvarney.com), Jim Rossignol (www.big-robot.com) and other top writers from in and outside the game industry. The Escapist will run weekly with a main edition published on Tuesday and a weekend extra edition on Friday.

"We have amassed a top-notch group of writers to help us bring The Escapist to fruition," said Julianne Greer, Executive Editor. "It has been an extreme pleasure working with all of them and I look forward to continuing to produce The Escapist with this talented and diverse group."

The first issue of The Escapist covers the rising importance of gaming and the effect it has on the global entertainment scene. Subsequent issues will cover topics such as gaming on-the-go, one-hit wonders, addictions in gaming, and much more.

"As we get older and move out into the world, gamers are becoming a very relevant segment of the population, both economically and culturally," continued Greer. "The Escapist is both evidence and celebration of this newfound import."

For more information about The Escapist or to sign up for your free subscription, please visit www.escapistmagazine.com.

About Themis Group Inc

Founded in 2001, Themis Group, Inc. (www.themis-group.com) is a community and communications services company catering to games, technology, and entertainment enthusiasts. Through its four separate divisions, TAP Interactive (www.tapin.net), Playerbase Solutions (www.playerbasesolutions.com), WarCry Network (www.warcry.com), and Iridea Mobile (www.iridea.com) Themis Group combines years of experience with a deep digital community knowledgebase and sophisticated proprietary analytical tools to extrapolate their cumulative greatest value.

Contact

Julianne Greer

Executive Editor,

The Escapist

julianne@escapistmag.com

Provided by Games PressGames Press is the leading online resource for games journalists. Used daily by magazines, newspapers, TV, radio, online media and retailers worldwide, it offers a vast, constantly updated archive of press releases and assets, and is the simplest and most cost-effective way for PR professionals to reach the widest possible audience. Registration for the site and the Games Press email digest is available, to the trade only, at www.gamespress.com.

  • _News
  • _Jobs
  • _Company Directory
  • _Share Watch
  • Ed_ucation
  • _Tiga Section
  • _Features
  • _Career Fair
  • _Announcements
  • _Events
  • _Release Dates
Sponsored by Kuju

GI Newsletter

Sign up to the FREE GI Newsletter and receive a comprehensive round-up of industry news and info.

Alienware

Editor
Phil Elliott
Advertising & Job Listings
Richard Sturgess