Map of Angola

Country name: Angola

Official name
: Republic of Angola

Mr. Josť Eduardo Dos Santos

Government type:
Multiparty democracy with a semi-executive presidency composed of the following State bodies: The President of the Republic, the National Assembly, the Government and the Courts.

Party of Government:

Main opposition party:


Political/Administrative divisions:
18 Provinces divided in 163 municipalities; Bengo, Benguela, Biť, Cabinda, Cuando Cubango, Cuanza Norte, Cuanza Sul, Cunene, Huambo, Huila, Luanda, Lunda Norte, Lunda Sul, Malanje, Moxico, , Uige, Zaire

Independence: 11 November 1975 (from Portugal)

National holiday: Independence Day, 11 November (1975)

Constitution: 11 November 1975; revised 7 January 1978, 11 August 1980, 6 March 1991, and 26 August 1992

Legal system: based on Portuguese civil law system and customary law; recently modified to accommodate political pluralism and increased use of free markets

Executive Branch:

Chief of State: President Jose Eduardo Dos Santos (since 21 September 1979).

Prime Minister: Fernando Dias dos Santos "Nando" (since December 2002)

Cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president

Judicial branch: Supreme Court or Tribunal of Relation, judges of the Supreme Court are appointed by the president.

Diplomatic representation in the United Kingdom:

Chief of mission: The Ambassador, Mr. Antonio Da Costa Fernandes
Chancellery: 22 Dorset Street - London W1U 6QY
Telephone: 020-7299 9850
Fax: 020-7486 9397

Flag description: two equal horizontal  bands of red (top) and black with a centered yellow emblem consisting of a five-pointed star within half a cogwheel crossed by a machete (in the style of a hammer and sickle)

Copyright © 2002 Embassy of Angola UK - All Rights Reserved
Site optimized for I.E. 6.0 on 1024x768 and Smaller Font Size