Pro-Wrestling Illustrated Most Hated Wrestler of the Year

Year Winner 1st Runner-Up 2nd Runner-Up 3rd Runner-Up
1972 The Sheik - - -
1973 Billy Graham - - -
1974 Great Mephisto - - -
1975 Greg Valentine - - -
1976 Stan Hansen Ox Baker Terry Funk The Spoiler
1977 Ken Patera Ric Flair Billy Graham Nick Bockwinkle
1978 Ric Flair Ken Patera Victor Rivera Bob Orton Jr.
1979 Greg Valentine Terry Funk Ken Patera Ivan Koloff
1980 Larry Zbyszko Greg Valentine Ernie Ladd Hulk Hogan
1981 Ken Patera Don Muraco Nick Bockwinkle Roddy Piper
1982 Ted DiBiase Blackjack Mulligan Billy Graham Buzz Sawyer
1983 Greg Valentine Masked Superstar Kevin Sullivan Michael Hayes
1984 Roddy Piper Kevin Sullivan Tully Blanchard Iron Sheik
1985 Roddy Piper Chris Adams Ted DiBiase Big John Studd
1986 Paul Orndorff Ric Flair Col. DeBeers Rick Rude
1987 Ric Flair Andre the Giant Honky Tonk Man Lex Luger
1988 Andre the Giant Barry Windham Eddie Gilbert Ted DiBiase
1989 Randy Savage Terry Funk Rick Rude Lex Luger
1990 Earthquake Ric Flair Rick Rude Eddie Gilbert
1991 Sgt. Slaughter The Undertaker Lex Luger Jake Roberts
1992 Rick Rude Ric Flair Jake Roberts The Moondogs
1993 Jerry Lawler Vader Yokozuna Shawn Michaels
1994 Bob Backlund Owen Hart Vader Jerry Lawler
1995 Jerry Lawler Kevin Sullivan The Gangstas British Bulldog
1996 Hulk Hogan Goldust Jerry Lawler The Giant
1997 Bret Hart Hulk Hogan Owen Hart Curt Hennig
1998 Hulk Hogan Vince McMahon Eric Bischoff Bret Hart
1999 Diamond Dallas Page Triple H The Undertaker Dudley Boyz
2000 Kurt Angle Triple H Steven Richards Jeff Jarrett
2001 Steve Austin Booker T Kurt Angle Shane McMahon
2002 Chris Jericho Un-Americans Kurt Angle Triple H
2003 Triple H Kane Vince McMahon Test
2004 Triple H JBL Kurt Angle Jeff Jarrett
2005 Triple H Edge Jeff Jarrett Muhammad Hassan
2006 Edge Jeff Jarrett Randy Orton Booker T