Home Visiting Whats On News
Research Education Corporate Collections

Launched in 2002, the National Football Museum Hall of Fame celebrates the greatest players and managers of all time in English football. The Selection Panel is made up of some of the biggest names in the game, including Sir Alex Ferguson, Sir Bobby Charlton and Mark Lawrenson. Each year they elect ten legends from the categories of Male Players, Managers and Female players to be inducted at a prestigious charity awards ceremony.

There is an exhibition to celebrate the Hall of Fame members to date in the entrance area of the National Football Museum. It includes film footage from the 2006 ceremony.

There is a wonderful opportunity for football fans to show their support for their favourite legend in the Hall of Fame by sponsoring a dedication plaque. Click here for further information.

Hall of Fame 2007

The 2007 Hall of Fame will be held on Thursday November 15th at Manchester United FC, Old Trafford Stadium .
Click here for further information.

Hall of Fame Publication

As a lasting souvenir of the Hall of Fame, the Museum has produced a beautifully illustrated book by Robert Galvin, entitled Football's Greatest Heroes: The National Football Museum Hall of Fame, published by Robson Books, and available from the National Football Museum shop.

Robert Galvin is now adding profiles, based on the book, on each Hall of Fame member to be available on our website. See below.


Male Players
Tony Adams, Viv Anderson, Alan Ball, Gordon Banks, John Barnes, Colin Bell, George Best, Danny Blanchflower, Liam Brady, Billy Bremner, Eric Cantona, John Charles, Jack Charlton, Sir Bobby Charlton, Kenny Dalglish, Dixie Dean, Peter Doherty, Duncan Edwards, Sir Tom Finney, Paul Gascoigne, Ryan Giggs, Jimmy Greaves, Alan Hansen, Johnny Haynes, Roger Hunt, Sir Geoff Hurst, Alex James, Pat Jennings, Roy Keane, Kevin Keegan, Denis Law, Tommy Lawton, Gary Lineker, Nat Lofthouse, Dave Mackay, Wilf Mannion, Sir Stanley Matthews, Jackie Milburn, Bobby Moore, Stan Mortensen, Martin Peters, Bryan Robson, Ian Rush, Peter Schmeichel, Alan Shearer, Peter Shilton, Bert Trautmann, Arthur Wharton, Billy Wright, Ian Wright, Gianfranco Zola.

Female Players
Debbie Bampton, Gillian Coultard, Sue Lopez, Lily Parr, Hope Powell.

Sir Matt Busby, Herbert Chapman, Brian Clough, Stan Cullis, Sir Alex Ferguson, Dario Gradi, Ron Greenwood, Howard Kendall, Bill Nicholson, Bob Paisley, Sir Alf Ramsey, Don Revie, Sir Bobby Robson, Bill Shankly, Arsene Wenger, Walter Winterbottom.

Special Category - Ambassador of Football
FIFA President, Joseph S. Blatter

2006 Inductees

2005 Inductees

2004 Inductees

2003 Inductees

2002 Inaugural Inductees

Note. Inductees must have ended their career or be at least 30 years of age and have played / managed in England for 5 years or more.

The National Football Museum Hall of Fame is generously supported by: