

National Statistical Service Republic of Armenia

Marzes (Regions) of the Republic of Armenia in Figures 2001-2005

Statistical handbook

Yerevan - 2006

In present day world which is characterized by the information variety and intensity of informational flows, the possible "combination" of three participants of official statistics such as respondents, users and taxpayers, "occupying the angels of statistical triangle" having different dispositions, is of great importance, especially from viewpoint of perception requirements "communication skills leveling" by national and international levels.

The National Statistical Service of RA (NSS RA) would like to thank all the respondents who have supplied information for this statistical publication and from the above mentioned considerations welcomes any comments and suggestions from the respondents and taxpayers, as statistical users, for the future developments of statistical publication.

You are kindly asked to provide your comments and suggestions to the Statistical Information Dissemination, Marketing and Public Relation Division of NSS RA concerning the future development of the publications.

Ul-hu

President National Statistical Service of RA Stepan Mnatsakanyan

Address: 3 Government House, Yerevan, 0010, Republic of Armenia http://www.armstat.am E-mail: armstat @ sci.am info@armstat.am Fax: (37410) 521 921 Tel.: (37410) 523 356 Marzes of the Republic of Armenia in Figures, 2001-2005 Statistical handbook

The National Statistical Service of the Republic of Armenia is pleased to present the 5rd edition of the Marzes of the Republic of Armenia in Figures, 2001-2005. This is the first edition of this Handbook published in a English version.

The given handbook is the most complete statistical publication of the National Statistical Service of RA, reflecting socio-demographic and economic situation of the country by marzes for 2001-2005.

Since 1995, the republic has been divided into 11 marzes, including Yerevan with a marze status. There are 47 cities and 951 villages in the Republic of Armenia, 9 of which are included in the urban communities and the rest of villages (870) - in rural communities.

By this publication it was made attempt to present to statistical information user detailed statistical information by marzes (regions).

The handbook is foreseen for the wide cycle of readers.

Certain indicators published in the past are adjusted in the given publication.

We wish to thank warmly all those who have supplied information for the Handbook or assisted in its compilation. All suggestions and comments concerning the contents and overal development of the Handbook will be much appreciated.

Explanations of symbols

-	Category not applicable
	Data not available
0.0	Negligible magnitude
\diamond	Data are adjusted

The discrepancy between the totals and sum in some cases can be explained by using rounded data.

Abbreviations

m	metre
m^2	square metre
m^3	cubic metre
km	kilometre
km ²	square kilometre
kg	kilogram
t	tonne
ha	hectare
ths.	thousand
mln.	million
bln.	billion
kW	kilowatt
t-km	tonne-kilometre
%	percentage
B.C.	Before Christ



Armenia as a constituent part of ancient civilization is known to history from ancient times.

Since IV-II century B.C. the Armenian-populated all districts had been divided into three big administrative units: Pokr Hayk, Tsopk and Mets Hayk that in II century B.C. became independent states. Among them the most powerful was Mets Hayk state, where since II century B.C. till V century B.C. first Artashesyans ruled, then Arshakunies.

The Mets Hayk contained of 15 lands that all together had 191 provinces. Those "lands" were followings: Tayk, Bardzr Hayk, Chorrord Hayk, Aghdznik, Korchek, Mokk, Parskahayk, Paytakaran, Artsakh, Utik, Syunik, Gugark, Turuberan, Vaspurakan and Ayrarat, that was the most known "land" as political, economic and cultural life centre.

In new and newest times the territory of historical Armenia was divided into western and eastern parts that were included in Osman Turkey and Iran (since 1828 in Russia).

In soviet times the Armenia's territory was divided into 37 districts.

The current administrative and territorial division of the Republic of Armenia - 10 marzes and Yerevan city with the marz status has been formed in 1995 according to the RA Law "On administrative and territorial division of RA".