de en fr  
Contact   |   Search on EUROPA   


The Kingdom of Belgium is a federal state made up of three Regions and three autonomous Communities, each of which has its own governmental powers.

The three Regions, which are responsible for territorial matters, particularly the economy, the environment, housing and employment, are: Flanders, Wallonia (which includes the German-speaking Community) and the Brussels Capital Region.
The three Communities are: the Flemish Community, the French Community and, the smallest constituent part of the State, the German speaking Community. The powers of these Communities relate to personal matters and range from education to international cultural relations, via language policy, culture and the audiovisual sector, scientific research, youth, occupational training, tourism, etc. In other words, they are the major cultural bodies.
There is one exception to this: protection of heritage remains under the jurisdiction of the Regions.
Constitutional interpretation differs among these various bodies. In 1980, Flanders chose to merge the Region and the Community. What is more, while in 1990 the French Community created two ministries, one for "Culture and Social Affairs" and the other for "Education, Research and Training", the Flemish Community set up a single ministry, with culture being covered by one of its six departments.

Finally, the federal state retains control over a number of cultural institutions of national importance, including museums such as the Beaux Arts in Brussels, the Théâtre royal de la Monnaie, the Bibliothèque royale (Royal Library), the Museum of Ancient Art and the Museum of Modern Art, etc.

For more information on culture in Belgium
Federal website
Communauté flamande
Portail Culture Communauté flamande
Portail Culture Communauté française
Communauté germanophone
Région de Bruxelles-Capitale
Portail Fédéral
Le Théâtre royal de la Monnaie
La Bibliothèque royale
Palais des Beaux Arts
Musée d'Art Ancien et Musée d'Art Moderne

Last update: 16-03-2007