City of Zagreb is the capital and largest city in the Republic of Croatia

Area: 641.355km2

Population: 779 145 (data from 2001.)

City of Zagreb is cultural, scientific, economic, political and administrative center of the Republic of Croatia with seat of Parliament, President and Government of the Republic of Croatia.


History in Brief
Written documents first mention Zagreb in 1094, with finding of Diocese.

1242, Zagreb (then Gradec) was proclaimed Free Town of the Kingdom by the Golden Bull of Croatian-Hungarian King Bela IV.

1557, Zagreb was for the first time mentioned as the capital.

1669, Jesuits find first Academy. The year is taken as the year of establishment of the University of Zagreb.

1776, Croatian Government moves from Varaždin to Zagreb.

June 25, 1991, Croatian Parliament proclaims independence and sovereignty of the Republic of Croatia. Zagreb becomes the capital.

Metropolitan Administration

City of Zagreb, as the capital of Croatia, has special status regulated in the Constitution. It says that Zagreb performs self-governing public affairs of the City and the County.

City Administration bodies:

   City Assembly as representative body
   Mayor and
   City Government as executive body

Members of the City Assembly are elected on direct elections. Members of the City Assembly elect the Mayor and members of the City Government by majority vote.

City Government has 11 members elected on Mayor’s proposal by the City Assembly by majority vote. Mayor is the head of City Government. Mayor has two deputies.

Organization of city administrative bodies is composed of 12 City Offices, 3 City Bureaus and 3 City Services. They are responsible to the Mayor and the City Government.

Local self-government is organized in 17 City Districts represented by City Districts Councils. Residents of districts elect members of Councils.


Quality land, favourable transit location and total municipal infrastructure, qualified labour force, Scientific, expert, educational, health, financial, banking and other institutions, tradition in performing various services, size and quality of economy present essential potentials in Zagreb developing strategy.

Most important branches of industry are: production of electric machines and devices, chemical, pharmaceutical, textile, food and drink processing. Zagreb is important international trade and business center, and transports crossroad of Central and East Europe.

Science and University


University of Zagreb is the oldest in Croatia and one of the oldest in Europe. It was founded in 1669. Till present more than 200 000 students have graduated, more than 18 000 took Master’s Degree, more than 8 000 took Doctor’s Degree.

Scientific - teaching - art work is performed at 28 faculties, 3 art academies, expert Teacher Academy and on Croatian Studies.

Scientific Institutions

There are 22 institutes in areas of social and natural sciences.

Zagreb is the seat of HAZU - Croatian Academy of Sciences and Art


City of Zagreb is responsible for 38 cultural institutions which include 10 city museums, most significant of which are City of Zagreb Museum, Museum of Art and Craft and Museum of Contemporary Art.

City of Zagreb administration is responsible for 14 centers of culture.

City of Zagreb is the owner of 7 city theaters and is in 50% owner of HNK - Croatian National Theatre.

City of Zagreb is the owner of Vatroslav Lisinski Concert Hall and Zagreb Philharmonic Orchestra.


City of Zagreb is the owner of Sveti Duh General Hospital, Ambulance, 7 specialized polyclinics and 13 medical centers.