THE FESTIVAL AWARDS

BEST FEATURE FILM AWARD

The international Jury Cheryl Dunye, director (Liberia/Usa/Netherland), Zi'en Cui, director (China), Massimiliano Palmese, writer (Italy), Mario Zonta, writer, critic, director (Italy) has unanimously decided to present the GRAN PREMIO OTTAVIO MAI of 5000 euro (offered by Fourlab) to:

[CL12] So lange du hier bist (While you are here) by Stefan Westerwelle (Germany 2006)

"First time feature film makers are challenged with many tasks. It's either not having the budget or talent or screenplay to pull off the production. This year jury found one film that achieved this mission. With one location, two actors and the vision to shift gay's cinema's subject from it's consumption from beauty and youth to that of aging. We, the jury, present this years top prize to 'So Lange du hier bist'."

The Special Jury Award goes to:

[CL05] Glue - historia adolescente en medio de la nada (Glue – A Teenage Story in the Middle of Nowhere)

directed by Alexis Dos Santos (Argentina/UK, 2006)

"While building his images, Alexis Dos Santos, perfectly delivers us to complexity of his own vision of adolescence by using a very young and talented cast also ready for improvisation. Telling us the story of the three main characters' today Argentina. The film intensively portrays a period of life in wich relationships are still open to any option and future development.."

BEST DOCUMENTARY

The international Jury Stefano Consiglio, director (Italy), Rosina Kuhn, artist (Switzerland), Orly Ravid, distributor (Usa) has awarded not unanimously after a long discussion the BEST DOCUMENTARY PRIZE (2500 euro offered by Enzo Forgione and Dido Viberti) to:

[CD05] Jack Smith and the Distruction of Atlantis directed by Mary Jordan (Usa, 2006)

"For its impeccable, imaginatevely and enormously engaging artistic portrait of its subject, a visionary - a siren for our times; we recognize and acknowledge immense talent in both the selection and depiction of the subject".

BEST SHORT FILM AWARD

The international Jury Patrick Carpentier, director (Belgium), Alessandro Codagnone, artist (Italy/Usa), Patrizia Sandretto Re Rebaudengo, president of the Sandretto Re Rebaudengo Art Foundation (Italy) has awarded the BEST SHORT FILM PRIZE (1500 euro offered by the festival) to:

[CC12] Godkänd (Approve) by Lisa Langseth (Sweden, 2006)

"The decision of the jury reflects the opinion that this work expresses the concept of Queer in the most complex and complete way. We feel the concept of Queer does not merely reflect a sexual behaviour when seen in a more through and thoughtful way. It is an attitude that goes beyond gender and the sexual orientation of the individual".

A Special Mention goes to:

[CC18] The Saddest boy in the World by Jamie Travis (Canada 2006)

"In face of the fact recently occurred in Turin that saw a 16 year old boy taking his life because misunderstood in his school".

"The jury decision feels to be in accord with the general conceptual direction of the programming of the festival and its will to broaden the questions of identity beyond the old fashion interpretation based merely on sexual orientation. We have seen many movies that translate the difficulty of being different and the constant struggle against the straight world. Pasolini said: "Throwing the body into the fight". Our enemy is not always the others as we may believe but it is often our own resistance towards change".

THE AUDIENCE AWARDS:

BEST FEATURE FILM

[CL01] The Bubble by Eytan Fox (Israel, 2006)

BEST DOCUMENTARY

[CD02] Bubot Niyar (Paper Dolls) directed by Tomer Heyman (Israel/Switzerland, 2006)

BEST SHORT FILM

[CC13] Groucho by Angel Almazán and Medardo Amor (Spain, 2006)