

## HONORARY DEGREES

Year	Name	Position	Degree
1919	A.O. Hendricks	President, Pasadena College	D.D.
1919	E. Oscar Smith	Vice President, Pasadena College	D.D.
1921	Charles Babcock	Pastor, Los Angeles First Church	D.D.
1925	J.E. Bates	Far East Missionary Superintendent	D.D.
		General Superintendent; President; General Board of	
1925	J.B. Chapman	Education	D.D.
1925	A.M. Hills	Professor, Pasadena College	LL.D.
1925	J.D. Scott	Latin American Missionary Superintendent	D.D.
1925	H. Orton Wiley	President, Northwest Nazarene College	D.D.
1926	R.H. White	Professor, Pasadena College	D.D.
1929	Takeshi Ban	President/Dean, Pacific School of Religious Education	D.D.
1931	Orval J. Nease	President, Pasadena College	D.D.
1931	Tetsuji Tsuchiyama	President, Free Methodist Theological School, Japan	D.D.
1932	A.K. Bracken	President, Bethany Peniel College	D.D.
1934	Weaver W. Hess	Pastor, Pasadena First Church; President, Board of Trustees	D.D.
1935	Robert J. Dixon	Professor, Pasadena College	D.D.
1935	Fred Shields	Professor, Pasadena College	D.D.
1936	Henry W. Brubaker	President, Beulah College	D.D.
1937	M. F. Grose	Business Manager, Pasadena College	M.A.
1937	C. Warren Jones	Secretary, General Church Missionary Board	D.D.
1937	H. B. Wallin	Pastor, Los Angeles First Church; President, Board of Trustees	D.D.
1938	A. E. Sanner	Superintendent, Southern California District	D.D.
1941	R. J. Plumb	Pastor	D.D.
1942	J. Raymond Schmidt	Temperance Leader, General Superintendent of National Civic League	D.D.
1943	Roy Smee	Superintendent, Northern California District	D.D.
1943	Joseph F. Ransom	Chapel Director, Pasadena College	B.Mus.
1945	J. Russel Gardner	Pastor, Bresee Church	D.D.
1946	M. Kimber Moulton Sr.	Pastor, Los Angeles First Church	D.D.
1947	Erwin G. Benson	Assistant Executive Secretary, Department of Church Schools	D.D.
1947	Lloyd B. Byron	Pastor, Pasadena First Church	
1948	W. T. Purkiser	President, Pasadena College	D.D.
1949	Ross E. Price	Professor/Dean of Graduate Department, Pasadena College	D.D.
1952	George Coulter	Superintendent, Northern California District	D.D.
1954	George J. Reed	Chairman, U.S. Parole Board	LL.D.
1955	R. C. Gunstream	Superintendent, New Mexico District	D.D.
1957	Joseph Mayfield	Professor/Dean of Students, Pasadena College	D.D.
1959	Norman B. Scharer	Superintendent, Santa Barbara School District	D.D.
1959	Murel L. Mann	Superintendent, Arizona District	D.D.
1960	J. B. Deisenroth	Business Manager, Pasadena College	LL.D.
1960	J. Wesley Mieras	Lawyer, PC Alumni President	LL.D.
1960	W. Shelburne Brown	Superintendent, Los Angeles District	D.D.

Year	Name	Position	Degree
1961	Nicholas A. Hull	Superintendent, Southern California District	D.D.
1961	A. Elwood Sanner	Professor, Northwest Nazarene College	D.D.
1962	Herman H. Price	Professor, Pasadena College	LL.D.
1963	William Sedat	Missionary	Litt.D.
1963	J. W. Ellis	Pastor, Pasadena First Church	D.D.
1963	Charles P. Smith	Scientist, China Lake Naval Research Lab	Sc.D.
1963	J. George Taylorson	Pastor, Bresee Church	D.D.
1964	Harold C. Case	President, Boston University	LL.D.
1964	A. Ross Kida	Superintendent, Japan	D.D.
1964	Dan Hollingsworth	Traffic Consultant	Litt.D.
1964	James Lloyd Mitchell	Safety Engineer	LL.D.
1965	Robert E. Jenkins	Superintendent, Pasadena School District	LL.D.
1965	B. Edgar Johnson	Secretary, General Church	D.D.
1966	Chester C. Crill	Professor, Pasadena College	Mus.D.
1966	Ponder W. Gilliland	Pastor, Long Beach First Church	D.D.
1966	Eugene L. Stowe	President, Nazarene Theological Seminary	D.D.
1969	Harrison Davis	President, Japan Christian College	D.D.
1969	Ralph Hornbeck	Superintendent, Pasadena School District	LL.D.
1971	Kenneth Vogt	Superintendent, Sacramento District	D.D.
1971	Earl G. Lee	Pastor, Pasadena First Church	D.D.
1971	Earl V. Pullias	Professor, University of Southern California	Litt.D.
1973	W. H. Deitz	Superintendent, Central California District	D.D.
1973	Harold Morris	Superintendent, New Mexico District	D.D.
1978	Mark O. Hatfield	United States Senator, Oregon	LL.D.
1980	Paul Benefiel	Superintendent, Los Angeles District	D.D.
1980	Reuben Welch	Associate Professor and College Chaplain, Point Loma College	D.D.
1982	Grady Cantrell	Superintendent, Northern California District	D.D.
1982	Robert L. Foster	Vice President for Financial Affairs, Point Loma College	LL.D.
1983	Robert Scott	Superintendent, Southern California District	D.D.
1986	Walter M. Hubbard	Superintendent, Sacramento District	D.D.
1986	Darrell B. Teare	Superintendent, Hawaii District	D.D.
1988	Ernest L. Boyer	President, The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching	LL.D.
1988	Paul Skiles	Director of Media Services, Church of the Nazarene	LL.D.
1989	George E. Rench	Director, Asia Pacific Region	D.D.
1989	Yozo Seo	Acting President, Japan Christian Junior College	D.D.
1990	H. B. London, Jr.	Pastor, Pasadena First Church	D.D.
1990	T. Richard Willis	Banker, District Administrator	LL.D.
1991	W. W. (Jack) Morris	Assistant to the President, Point Loma Nazarene College	LL.D.
1991	Francis L. Smee	Attorney	LL.D.
1992	Clarence Kinzler	Superintendent, Northern California District	D.D.
1992	B. Maurice Hall	Superintendent, Southern California District	D.D.
1993	Roberta Hestenes	President, Eastern College	Litt.D.
1993	Shin Kitagawa	President, Japan Christian Junior College	D.D.
1994	Raymundo Z. Lopez	Superintendent, Western Latin American District	D.D.
1994	Herbert L. Prince	Associate Professor, Point Loma Nazarene College	D.D.
1994	James C. Dobson	Founder and President, Focus on the Family	L.H.D.
1995	Roger E. Bowman, Sr.	Superintendent, Los Angeles District	D.D.

Year	Name	Position	Degree
1995	Ross Clinton Irwin	Attorney	LL.D
1996	John M. Smee	Director, Caribbean Region	D.D.
1996	Ramon C. Cortines	Former Chancellor of NY City Public School System (alumnus)	LL.D.
1997	Aguiar Valvassoura	District Superintendent, Sao Paulo, Brazil	D.D.
1998	Virgil Vail	Retired Educator	LL.D.
1999	none given		
2000	none given		
2001	Arthur L. Shingler	Vice President for Financial Affairs, Point Loma Nazarene University	LL.D.
2002	Jim L. Bond	President Emeritus, General Superintendent	L.H.D.
2003	none given		
2004	Ron Benefiel	President, Nazarene Theological Seminary	Litt.D.
2004	George Fermanian	San Diego Businessman	L.H.D.
2004	Mel Rich	Pastor, Church of the Nazarene	D.D.
2005	none given		
2006	none given		
2007	George Sherman Mitrovich	President, The City Club of San Diego	Litt.D.