Forum Posts: 490
New Members: 68
Participation Points: 9090.30

Author
admiralebay
Forum Regular Poster

Reading music..
Tuesday, May 13 2008 @ 10:54 PM CDT

Ok, so I've never been able to read music.. I can look at it and figure it out eventually, but not very well. I'm 23 years old, and I want to learn how to read music.

How do I go about it in a way that will make sense to me? I am self taught on everything I do.. so I have been using my ear to get by all this time. It is really hard for me to convert the "visual" part of reading music to an instrument.

Has anyone out there learned to read music after being self taught by ear for many years? If so.. I need some advice--and some pointers. I have friends who strictly read music..and it's like there is a bridge between us. They do things that amaze me, and I do things that amaze them, but when it comes to teaching each other what it is we do-- there is just a fundamental difference in the way we apply our skills to an instrument.
Feter
Forum Full Member

Re:Reading music..
Wednesday, May 14 2008 @ 12:08 AM CDT

I think the best way I found is a method on teaching
reading music called BONA ..there s a nice book and
an excercise hand book for it ..help you to read music !
and no I m too slow in reading and playing but I can
in away to only read and figure out the harmonies on
my head ..good luck !!
chipan
Forum Chatty

Wednesday, May 14 2008 @ 12:26 AM CDT

My piano teacher used to give me the assignment of playing through a hymn book in order to improve reading. If you can't do both hands just start with one hand or even one voice. Do one or two a day and eventually you will improve.