Lambda Literary Foundation :: Advocacy, Celebration, Education
empty empty empty  
Search Our Site

Join Our E-List


Press Room

To the New York Times,

In your recent article on J. Michael Bailey and his book, The Man Who Would Be Queen (“Criticism of a Gender Theory, and Scientist Under Siege” by Benedict Carey, August 21, 2007), your journalist reported, “The Lambda Literary Foundation, an organization that promotes gay, bisexual, and transgender literature, nominated the book for an award.”

Mr. Carey failed to disclose that the Foundation later withdrew the award nomination in response to our judges’ assessment of the book, which they ultimately considered transphobic and inappropriate for a Lambda Literary award.

Further, the Bailey incident revealed flaws in our awards nomination process, which I have completely overhauled since becoming the foundation’s executive director in January 2006.  Any book with LGBT content may be nominated by its publisher or its author, but the selection of the book as a finalist for an award is in the hands of the category’s judges. Trans writers now serve as judges in our awards process (both in the Transgender category as well as other categories), so that a book such as Bailey’s could be nominated for an award by the author/publisher but not selected as a finalist or recipient by the judges. In addition, we have expanded many of our categories by dropping the “gay” and “lesbian” designation, in favor of “men’s” and “women’s,” to better represent and embrace the literature of bisexual and transgender writers.

Our judges spoke for the foundation in 2004 when they withdrew Bailey’s book from consideration of a Lambda Literary Award, and the foundation’s position remains the same. With the help of the transgender community, we have improved the integrity of our awards, by making them more inclusive and our methods more transparent.

Charles Flowers
Executive Director
Lambda Literary Foundation

LLF Announces Finalists for the
18th Annual Lambda Literary Awards

March 3, 2006, New York, NY—The Lambda Literary Foundation announced the finalists for the 18th Annual Lambda Literary Awards, celebrating achievements in lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) literature for books published in 2005.


Tenth Annual Dyson Distinguished Achievement Awards

At the Tenth Annual Dyson Distinguished Achievement Awards, Dyson College of Arts and Sciences at Pace University will honor Gloria Steinem for her Distinguished Leadership in the Arts and Humanities, and Distinguished Professor of English, Karla Jay, PhD, with the Distinguished Faculty Award.


LLF Announces Initiatives for 2006

As we go forward, the Foundation needs your help and involvement. Whether you are a reader, an author, a publisher, a publicist, a bookstore owner, an agent, an editor—any kind of book lover—we want you to be part of Lambda Literary Foundation as it enters 2006.


LLF Calls for Nominations for 2006 Lambda Literary Awards

New York, November 5, 2005—Lambda Literary Foundation is pleased to open the call for nominations for its 2006 Lambda Literary Awards. Any publisher or individual may nominate a title for a "Lammy". All nominations are due by December 31, 2005. For guidelines and nomination form,


LLF Announces Charles Flowers as its New Executive Director

New York/San Francisco, October 10, 2005—The Lambda Literary Foundation announced today that Charles Flowers will serve as its new executive director, effective October 15. The appointment comes after several months of reorganization and extensive planning for the future by the Board of Directors.