

## HONORARY GRADUATES OF CRANFIELD UNIVERSITY - BY YEAR

- 1970 Lord Kings Norton (deceased) Professor H B G Casimir (deceased) Sir George Edwards Sir Roy Fedden Professor A J Murphy Sir Denning Pearson
- 1971 Lord Blackett M. Phillipe J Dennis Sir Eric Eastwood Sir John Howard Professor J Loxham (MSc) Sir Reginald Verdon-Smith
- 1972 Lord Brown Sir Eric Drake Sir George Dowty Sir Arnold Hall Lord Nelson of Stafford Dr Walter Tye
- 1973 Mr B W A Dickson Mrs F N Dixon (MSc) Mr Sebastian B J Z de Ferranti Ingenieur-General J Forestier Mr D A Hodson (MBA) Mr G A Hunt Sir Alex Jarratt Professor D Kuchemann Mr J Lynall (MSc)
- 1974 Sir Jack Callard Air Marshal Sir John Hunter-Tod Professor Sir James Lighthill Sir John Partridge Dr A T Vretham
- 1975 Lord Armstrong Viscount Caldecote (deceased) Mr B W Carver (MSc) Professor A R Collar Sir Alan Cottrell Dr Satish Dhawan Sir Monty Finniston Dr F E Jones Professor D Keith-Lucas (deceased) Professor T Kempner Mrs M K McQuillan

Sir James Martin Sir Morien Morgan Professor S C Redshaw Mr B F Russell (MSc) Sir Ernest Woodroofe

- 1976 Lord Baker of Fleetwood M. Gaston Deurinck Sir Antony Part Sir John Toothill
- 1977 Dr H N G Allen Sir Terence Beckett – Silsoe Mr P F C Bedingfeld (MSc) Mr P A Digger (MSc) Professor Dr Ing K H Doetsch Sir Peter Masefield Lord Peart of Wokington Sir Charles Pereira – Silsoe
- 1978 Lord Ezra of Horsham Sir David Plastow Sir Alfred Pugsley Sir Frederick Warner
- 1979 Sir William Barlow Dr Raoul Dudal – *Silsoe* Sir Frederick Page Sir Nigel Strutt – *Silsoe (deceased)*
- 1980 Professor A D Baxter Mr J Crosfield Sir Freddie Laker
- 1981 Lord Beswick Dr William R Boon – *Silsoe* Sir Diarmuid Downs Sir Ernest Harrison
- 1982 Sir Robert Clark Viscount Davignon Sir Robert Telford
- 1983 Mr J Cassidy (MSc) Professor P G Forrester Sir Robin Nicholson Sir Henry Plumb – *Silsoe* Lord Reilly of Brompton
- 1984 Sir Peter Carey Mr Soichiro Honda Sir Martin Wood

- 1985 Sir Adrian Cadbury Sir Derman Chistopherson Dr Anthony James – *Silsoe* Lord Tombs Lord Vincent of Coleshill – *Shrivenham*
- 1986 Sir John Egan Dr Charles Grossenbacher Sir Christopher Hogg Mr Fukujiro Sono
- 1987 His Royal Highness The Duke of Kent Shrivenham M. Guy Denielou
  Sir John Fairclough
  Sir Austin Pearce Shrivenham
  Sir Shridath Ramphal Silsoe
  Sir Denis Rooke
  Sir Frank Whittle (deceased)
  Lord Young of Graffham Silsoe
- Sir Geoffrey Allen
  Lord Carrington Shrivenham
  Mr John G Collier
  Marshal of the RAF Lord Craig of Radley Shrivenham
  M. Jean Pierson
  Dr Robb W Wilmot
- 1989 Lord Chilver
  Professor Sir Bernard Crossland Shrivenham
  Viscount Eccles Silsoe
  Sir Denys Henderson
  Mr Frederick W Hewitt
  Lord King of Wartnaby (deceased)
  Professor Arthur H Lefebvre (deceased)
  General Sir John Stibbon Shrivenham
- 1990 His Royal Highness The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh Dr John C Bowman – Silsoe Professor Hubert Curien Lord Gregson – Shrivenham Marshal of the RAF Sir Peter Harding – Shrivenham Professor W Austyn Mair Sir Ralph Robins Sir Roland Smith (deceased 2003)
- 1991 Dr Donald E Broadbent Sir Graham Day Sir Anthony Gill – *Shrivenham* Professor Sir Frederick Holliday Sir (Francis) Roger Hurn – *Shrivenham* Dr Francisco Kerdel-Vegas – *Silsoe*

The Earl of Selborne – Silsoe Mr Frank Shrontz

- 1992 Professor Ronald F Coleman General Sir Peter de la Billiere – Shrivenham Sir Robert Horton Mr Yutaka Kume Sir Arthur Marshall Sir Peter Thompson Sir Crispin Tickell – Silsoe
- 1993 Mr Corelli Barnett Shrivenham Sir Alistair Grant – Silsoe Professor Dr Ing Bacharuddin J Habibie Sir Peter Holmes (deceased March 2002) Lord Lewis of Newnham His Royal Highness Raja Nazrin Shah The Regent of Perak (MBA) Mr Masahiro Shima Sir William Stewart – Silsoe
- 1994 Air Chief Marshal Sir Michael Alcock Shrivenham Sir Anthony Bamford – Silsoe Lord Butler of Brockwell Baroness Chalker of Wallasey – Silsoe Sir Christopher Chataway Dr Walter Lorch (deceased) Dr Alexander Moulton
- 1995 Professor Sir John Cadogan Shrivenham Sir Anthony Cleaver Mr Kazuo Inamori Mr William Jordan Sir Michael Perry – Silsoe Sir Adrian Swire General Sir Richard Trant – Shrivenham
- 1996 Mr Neil Armstrong M. André Bérnard (deceased) The Earl of Cranbrook – *Silsoe* Dr John Fozard (deceased) Mr Michael Jeans (MBA) Professor Patrick McKeown Mr John Monks Sir Alastair Morton (deceased) Lord Sainsbury of Turville
- 1997 Lord De Ramsey Silsoe Sir Richard Evans Sir Edward George General Sir Charles Guthrie – Shrivenham Mr Richard Hardwicke (MSc) Sir John Horlock

Ambassador Bo Kjellen – *Silsoe* Baron Marshall of Knightsbridge Mr Hiroshi Sato Mr Zhu Yuli

- 1998 Mr Percy Barnevik Herr Helmut Claas – Silsoe Professor Sir Christopher Evans Mr Colin Green General Sir Robert Hayman-Joyce - Shrivenham Sir Colin Hope Mr Colin Sharman Admiral Sir Jock Slater – Shrivenham Sir Jackie Stewart Baroness Young of Old Scone – Silsoe
- 1999 Mr Andrew Bennett Silsoe General Sir Sam Cowan – Shrivenham Mr Aaron Jones (deceased) – Silsoe Dr Michael Lavalou (deceased) Sir Richard Sykes
- 2000 Dr Philip Condit
   Professor Sir Liam Donaldson
   RSM Joe Farrell (MSc) Shrivenham
   Sir Ben Gill Silsoe
   Lord Haskins Silsoe
   Mr Brian Jones
   Dr Bertrand Piccard
   Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Shrivenham
   Dr Shunjiro Saito
- 2001 Sir Peter Bonfield Mr Alan Brown Dr Donald Campbell Sir John Krebs (*Silsoe*) Mr Lindsay Owen-Jones Professor Raymond Smallman Sir Peter Squire (*Shrivenham*) Professor Lord Winston of Hammersmith Lord Woolf of Barnes (*Silsoe*)
- 2002 Sir Roger Bannister (Silsoe) Lord Browne of Madingley Professor John Field (Shrivenham) The Honorable Jane F Garvey Mr Carlos Ghosn Dr Robert Hawley Professor Dr-Ing Joachim Milberg Ms Fiona Reynolds (Silsoe) Professor Dr-Ing Klaus Riedle Sir Robert Walmsley (Shrivenham)

- 2003 Mr Bill Alexander Mr Barry Baldwin Mr Alan Garwood (*Shrivenham*) Sir Rob Margetts (*Silsoe*) Mrs Eryl McNally (*Silsoe*) Mr Gordon Page Lord Stevenson of Coddenham Mr John Tetlow (MSc) (deceased) (*Shrivenham*) Sir Andrew Turnbull General Sir Michael Walker (*Shrivenham*) Dr Timothy Walker *Distinguished Alumnus (SoM*) – *Mr John McFarlane*
- 2004 Ms Barbara Cassani Sir Donald Curry (*Silsoe*) Dr Michael Howse Mr Allan Leighton Ms Eliza Manningham-Buller (*Shrivenham*) Professor Hans Mark (*Shrivenham*) Dr Raj Rajagopal Mr Anthony Reynolds (MSc) (*Silsoe*) Sir Nicholas Scheele (*Silsoe*) *Distinguished Alumnus (SoM*) – Mr Nigel Doughty
- 2005 Professor Sir George Alberti (Silsoe) Professor Sir George Bain Sir Martin Doughty (Silsoe) His Excellency Ambassador Zha Peixin Mr David Richards Sir John Rose Air Chief Marshal Sir Jock Stirrup (Shrivenham) Mr David C Stocks (MSc) (Shrivenham) Distinguished Alumnus (SIMS) – Dr Hsi Hsin Chien Distinguished Alumnus (SoM) – Mr Ted Tuppen
- 2006 The Honorable Claude Bolton (Shrivenham) Ms Stella Dorset Mr Stelios Haji-Ioannou Sir Frank Holroyd (Shrivenham) Baroness Sarah Hogg Mr Michael Markin Sir Derek Morris Mr Richard Olver Professor Patricia Troop (Silsoe) Professor Wynne Jones (Silsoe) Distinguished Alumnus (SoM) – Mr Ian Odgers
- 2007 Dame Deirdre Hutton (Silsoe) Baroness Denise Kingsmill Sir Stephen Lander (Shrivenham)

Sir Terence Leahy Dr Jim Marshall Ms Sunita Narain Kevin O'Donoghue (Shrivenham) Richard Parry-Jones (Silsoe) Mr Michael Turner Dr Woodrow Whitlow *Distinguished Alumnus (SoM) – Ms Elena Ambrosiadou Posthumous Citation (SoE) – Sir Frank Whittle*