Go to Kentucky.gov home page
Kentucky Court of Justice (Banner Imagery) - click to go to homepage. Kentucky Court of Justice (Banner Imagery) - click to go to homepage.

Court of Appeals

The Kentucky Court of Appeals judges are, standing, left to right: Christopher Shea Nickell, Jeff S. Taylor, Michael Caperton, Chief Judge Sara Walter Combs, Thomas B. Wine, Laurance B. VanMeter and Michelle M. Keller; and seated, left to right: Donna L. Dixon, Kelly Thompson, James H. Lambert, Janet L. Stumbo, Denise G. Clayton, Glenn E. Acree and Joy A. Moore.

Photograph provided by the Kentucky Office of Creative Services

About the Court of Appeals

The Court of Appeals is exactly what its title implies. Nearly all cases come to it on appeal from a lower court. If a case is tried in District or Circuit court, and the losing parties involved are not satisfied with the outcome, they may ask for a higher court to review the correctness of the trial court's decision.

Some cases, like criminal case acquittals and divorces, may not be appealed. In a divorce case, however, child custody and property rights decisions may be appealed. Cases are not retried in the Court of Appeals. Only the record of the original court trial is reviewed, with attorneys presenting the legal issues to the court for a decision.

Fourteen judges, two elected from seven appellate court districts, serve on the Court of Appeals. The judges are divided into panels of three to review and decide cases, with the majority determining the decision. The panels do not sit permanently in one location, but travel about the state to hear cases.

Court Clerk:   Sam Givens
Court Administrator:   Connie McCay

Clerk of the Court of Appeals
360 Democrat Drive
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

Clerk's Phone: 502-573-7920


Last Updated 3/20/2008
Privacy | Security | Disclaimer | Accessibility Statement