Explore the Magazine Subscribe Explore the Magazine Give a gift Advertise with VeloNews
Magazine Image
Tour de France News
2008 Stages:
Pre 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 R1 11 12 13 14 15 R2 16 17 18 19 20 21 Post All 2007
Sponsored Links

Stage 21 - By the numbers

Stage 21 stats

Stage 21, Étamps to Paris, 143km

Hot and humid with partly cloudy skies and moderate wind, temperatures in the mid 80s

Stage winner
Quick Step’s Gert Steegmans salvaged a disappointing Tour for his Belgian team by winning one of the most prestigious sprints in cycling along the Champs Elysees.

Yellow jersey
Race leader Carlos Sastre held his overall lead, with no major change on classification.

Green jersey
By finishing third on the stage, Rabobank’s Oscar Freire secured his maillot vert, 270 points to Thor Hushovd’s 220 points.

King of the Mountains
Gerolsteiner’s Bernhard Kohl had secured this year’s KOM jersey heading into the stage, as well as third overall.

Most aggressive rider
No award on the stage. However Cofidis rider Sylvain Chavanel was named most aggressive rider of this year’s Tour de France.

Best young rider
Columbia’s Gerald Ciolek was second on the stage, however CSC-Saxo Bank’s Andy Schleck, won the competition 1:27 ahead of Roman Kreuziger of Liquigas.

Team GC
CSC-Saxo Bank won the team competition, 15:35 ahead of Ag2r-La Mondiale. In third is Rabobank, at 1:05:26.

Top American
Christian Vande Velde (Garmin-Chipotle) was the top American, finishing fifth overall.

Lanterne Rouge
For a record third year in a row, Wim Vansevenant (Silence-Lotto) was the race’s slowest finisher. The Belgian now sits 3:55:45 behind Sastre.


The peloton
No riders abandoned or missed the time cut.
The final peloton was made up of 145 riders. However following the news that Kazakhstan's Dmitri Fofonov tested positive for a banned stimulant, he will likely be excluded from the final standings. Fofonov finished the race in 19th overall, 28:31 behind Sastre.

Medical report
Duque (Cofidis): insect bite to the face
Vaugrenard (Francaise Des Jeux): contusion to right knee.

Jury report
No fines or warnings were issued

Estimated spectators on the Champs Elysees

Overall Tour speed
This year’s Tour was the fifth fastest in history, with an average speed of 40.5 kph.

The top 11 fastest Tours
41.654 kph: Lance Armstrong (2005)
40.940 kph: Lance Armstrong (2003)
40.784 kph: Oscar Pereiro (2006)
40.553 kph: Lance Armstrong (2004)
40.492 kph: Carlos Sastre (2008)
40.276 kph: Lance Armstrong (1999)
40.070 kph: Lance Armstrong (2001)
39.983 kph: Marco Pantani (1998)
39.920 kph: Lance Armstrong (2002)
39.572 kph: Lance Armstrong (2000)
39.504 kph: Miguel Indurain (1992)

Prize Money
CSC was the biggest money earner with 621,000 euros. Sastre’s win alone was worth 450,000 euros. Lampre was the Tour’s lowest earner, with only 9840 euros, meaning each rider earned only 1093 euros over three weeks of racing. Meanwhile Saunier Duval’s prize money has been withheld after the positive tests of double stage winner Riccardo Ricco.

Prize money classification
1. CSC, 621,210 euros
2. Silence-Lotto, 233,450
3. Gerolsteiner, 192,370
4. Rabobank, 154,250
5. Columbia, 113,450
6. Cofidis, 91,460
7. Garmin, 82,570
8. AG2R, 71,060
9. Caisse d'Epargne, 59,510
10. Credit Agricole, 55,450
11. Euskaltel, 53,130
12. Liquigas, 49,220
13. Francaise des Jeux, 45,780
14. Milram, 35,490
15. Agritubel, 32,540
16. Quick Step, 31,470
17. Bouygues Telecom, 24,900
18. Barloworld, 22,480
19. Lampre, 9,840

Wins by country after 95 Tours de France
36: France
18: Belgium
11: Spain
10: United States
9: Italy
4: Luxembourg
2: Netherlands, Switzerland
1: Germany, Denmark, Ireland

  • Share VeloNews
  • Digg
  • Newsvine
  • CycleCluster
  • StumbleUpon
  • Mixx
  • Reddit
  • Furl
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • Delicious
  • Yahoo
Article Tools
Top Stories > More Road Articles