ArchivesMuseumAir Force OneRonald ReaganShopGet InvolvedProgramsFacility RentalEducation
Center for Public Affairs > The Ronald Reagan Freedom Award

The Ronald Reagan Freedom Award

Ronald Reagan's greatest legacy to the world is freedom. His strength of character and bedrock belief in right and wrong ended the Cold War and his leadership unshackled the yoke of tyranny for millions who have known only oppression. Thus, it is fitting that the highest honor awarded by the Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation carries the name of the 40th President of the United States. This prestigious award is bestowed upon those who have made monumental and lasting contributions to the cause of freedom. The Ronald Reagan Presidential Freedom Award recognizes the courage of an individual who has promoted freedom around the world. Each year, the Foundation presents the Freedom Award to an individual who embodies President Reagan's lifelong belief that one man or woman truly can make a difference.

Past Reagan Presidential Freedom Award Recipients:

March 8, 2002

The Honorable Rudolph W. Giuliani

April 5, 2000

The Reverend Billy Graham

October 27, 1998

Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher of Great Britain
May 29, 1997

Bob Hope

March 24, 1995

His Majesty King Hussein I of Jordan

November 16, 1994

Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin of Israel

November 9, 1993

General Colin Powell, Jr., Chairman of the Joint Chiefs' of Staff

May 4, 1992

President Mikhail Gorbachev of the Soviet Union

Four Pillars of Freedom
  What's New