NEW ZEALAND SOCCER AWARDS WINNERS ANNOUNCED AT GALA DINNER

Close to 300 people enjoyed a gala occasion and the thoughts of former FA Cup winner Terry Phelan at the NZS Annual Gala Dinner held tonight (Friday) in Auckland.

Phelan regaled the audience with stories of the days with the Crazy Gang of Wimbledon through to his current situation as coach at Otago United in the NZFC. A highlight was stories around winning the 1988 FA Cup with Wimbledon in a famous upset over Liverpool at Wembley.

A special moment was the recognition of long service by former FIFA referee John Cameron with the Jim McMullan NZS Service award. The former national league referee has been involved in the game for 40 plus years as an official and still officiates in school matches and as a referee inspector today.

Auckland City dominated the NZFC awards taking out the Player of the Year (Grant Young) and Coach of the Year (Allan Jones).

Award winners were announced, from domestic to international and including media awards.

Ryan Nelsen won the Nike International Men's Player of the Year award and spoke to the gathering via a pre-recorded interview from Blackburn where is playing in the English Premiership.

Simone Ferrara won the Uncle Toby's Women's International Player of the Year.

The winners are listed in bold amongst the nominees below.

LEGO Small Whites Coach of the Year

Paul Hobson, Birkenhead United 11th Grade and United Soccer 1

George Jackson Memorial Cup for Referee of the Year

Neil Fox Michael Hester **Peter O'Leary**

Sponsored by Classic Travel and Adventure Motorhomes

Morrie Swain Shield for Assistant Referee of the Year

Brent Best

Paul Dunham

Darrin Mitchell

Sponsored by Classic Travel and Adventure Motorhomes



Nike International Young Player of the Year

Steven Old Cole Tinkler Craig Wylie



Nike International Player of the Year

Danny Hay **Ryan Nelsen** Ivan Vicelich

UNCLE T@BYS

Uncle Toby's International Young Women's Player of

the Year Hannah Bromley Emma Humphries Kirsty Yallop

UNCLE T@BYS

Uncle Toby's International Women's Player of the Year

Simone Ferrara Hayley Moorwood Rebecca O'Neill



Lion Foundation National Women's League

Player of the Year

Rebecca O'Neill Capital Soccer Rebecca Simpson United Soccer 1

Rebecca Tegg Soccer2

Prize sponsored by





Lion Foundation National Women's League

Young Player of the Year

Caitlin Campbell United Soccer 1

Holly Nixon Force 3 Katie Hoyle NZ U19

Prize sponsored by



Golden Boot - Women's National League

Winner to be revealed in the week prior, subject to the Grand Final on the 26th November



NZFC Young Player of the Year (U20 as at Jan 1st 2005)

Dan Keat Team Wellington

Michael Mayne Waikato FC Cole Tinkler Waikato FC

NZFC Player of the Year

Ross Nicholson Auckland City
Blair Scoullar Otago United
Grant Young Auckland City

NZFC Coach of the Year

Declan Edge Waikato FC
Allan Jones Auckland City
Chris Milicich Waitakere United

NZFC Golden Boot – shared with 15 goals Keryn Jordan Waitakere United

Grant Young Auckland City

New Zealand Soccer Media Awards

Writer of The Year

Gary Birkett

Michael Brown

Simon Kay

Sunday Star Times Sunday Herald NZ Truth

Sponsored by:



MILLENNIUM . COPTHORNE . KINGSGATE

Photographer of the Year

Rebecca Campbell

Michael Bradley

Shane Wenzlick

Newspapers

Kevin Clarke Photography

Freelance – Photosport and Fotopress Auckland Stuff Newsroom & Suburban

Sponsored by:



Broadcast Journalist of the Year

Michelle Pickles Craig Stanaway 3 Sport – TV3 ONE Sport - TVNZ

Sponsored by:



MILLENNIUM . COPTHORNE . KINGSGATE

Website of the Year

Auckland City Soccer² www.aucklandcityfc.com www.soccer2.org.nz

Team Wellington <u>www.tw.org.nz</u>

Sponsored by:

Publication of the Year
Halswell United Grass Roots Newsletter
Score Magazine
Soccer Talk Magazine

Sponsored by the New Zealand Soccer Media Association

Programme of the Year Auckland City Canterbury United Waterside Karori

Sponsored by the New Zealand Soccer Media Association

NZS/NZSMA Jim McMullan Service to Soccer Award John Cameron

For services to refereeing and football in the Waikato in a career spanning 40 years to the present day where John still officiates in schools matches and acts as a referee inspector.