Send my password Sign up now - Play College or Pro Pick 'Em!
Athlon SportsVideo, Audio and Mobile Options

USC All-Time Team

USC All-Time Team

The University of Southern California has had many decorated
quarterbacks. Rob Johnson (1991-94) is the Trojans' all-time career
passing leader. Gus Shaver and Cotton Warburton led the Trojans to
national championships in 1931 and 1932, respectively, and both were
consensus All-Americans. But Athlon's selection as USC's all-time
quarterback is Pat Haden, who played on SC's national title team in 1972
and led the Trojans to another title as the starter in '74.

Another member of those great John McKay-coached Trojan teams of the
early '70s was Lynn Swann, a member of both the College and Pro Halls
of Fame. Joining Swann at wide receiver on the all-time USC team is
Keyshawn Johnson, who caught 168 passes and scored 16 times in his
two-year SC career. The Trojans' top tight end ever is Hal Bedsole, a 1962
consensus All-American who led his team in receiving in 1961 and '62
and in scoring in '61.

Selecting the top two running backs in USC history from the list of
candidates would be an impossibility. There is Mike Garrett, the 1965
Heisman Trophy winner and the first in a long line of legendary Trojan
I-formation tailbacks. Three years later (1968), O.J. Simpson captured the
Heisman with the largest voting margin in the award's history. Charles
White (1979) and Marcus Allen (1981) also won Heismans as SC
tailbacks. Allen ran for more yards in a single season than any other
(2,342 in 1981), and White is the school's career rushing leader with
5,598 yards.

White benefited greatly by being a classmate of two tremendous offensive
linemen - Brad Budde and Anthony Munoz. They along with Tay Brown,
John Baker and 1967 Outland Trophy winner Ron Yary all played for
national champions. Bruce Matthews and Tony Boselli are the most
recent additions to the all-time offensive line at a school historically known
for powerful units.

Head coach Howard Jones guided the Trojans to national titles in 1931
and '32, largely because of two of the nation's best linemen - tackle
Ernie Smith and guard Aaron Rosenberg, both of whom are enshrined in
the College Football Hall of Fame. They were two-way players, but they
made their marks on defense, while their teammates, Brown and Baker,
earned recognition on offense. Harry Smith and Tim Ryan are two-time
All-Americans joining Rosenberg and Smith on the USC all-time
defensive line.

Richard Wood, the school's only three-time All-American, heads the
linebacker contingent, joined by Chris Claiborne, the 1998 Butkus Award
winner; 1984 consensus All-American Jack Del Rio; and Junior Seau, a
perennial All-Pro with his hometown San Diego Chargers.

Safety Ronnie Lott played for the Trojans' 1978 national champions and
was a unanimous All-American in 1980, averaging 21 yards per return on
eight interceptions that year. His all-time SC secondary mates are Morley
Drury, a consensus All-American in 1927 and USC's first inductee into the
College Football Hall of Fame; two-time All-American Tim McDonald; and
1989 Thorpe Award winner Mark Carrier.

Quin Rodriguez led USC in scoring four straight years (1987-1990),
securing himself the all-time kicker honor; for a punter, we have chosen
Des Koch, who averaged 44.1 yards over his three years as coach Jess
Hill's regular punter in the early '50s.

USC All-Time Team


Wide receiver

Lynn Swann 1971-73

Keyshawn Johnson 1992-95

Tight End

Hal Bedsole 1961-63

Offensive Linemen

Ron Yary 1965-67

Tay Brown 1930-32

Tony Boselli 1991-94

John Baker 1929-31

Brad Budde 1976-79

Anthony Munoz 1976-79

Bruce Matthews 1980-82


Pat Haden 1972-74

Running Backs

Mike Garrett 1963-65

O.J. Simpson 1967-68

Charles White 1976-79

Marcus Allen 1978-81


Quin Rodriguez 1987-90


Defensive Linemen

Ernie Smith 1930-32

Tim Ryan 1986-89

Harry Smith 1937-39

Aaron Rosenberg 1931-33


Chris Claiborne 1996-98

Richard Wood 1972-74

Jack Del Rio 1981-84

Junior Seau 1988-89

Defensive Backs

Ronnie Lott 1977-80

Morley Drury 1925-27

Mark Carrier 1987-89

Tim McDonald 1983-86


Des Koch 1951-53

Here are some other all-time teams that Athlon Sports has done.

Michigan All-Time Team

Tennessee All-Time Team

You must have an account to post comments. Go ahead and register now. It's completely free and takes 5 seconds.


Phil Mickelson 2004 Masters Jump 8x10 Framed
Phil Mickelson unautographed 8x10 photo. Custom Framed and Matted. The Famous "Jump" Photo celebrates his 2004 Masters victory on the 18th hole at Augusta National....


3 Stooges Engraved Collection 29x34
3 Stooges custom premium framed unautographed Signature Engraved oversize 29x34 piece....


Tiger Woods 18x34 5 Picture Collection Framed
Tiger Woods Unautographed 5 Photo Sequence 18x34. Custom Framed and Matted. A truly unique Tiger Woods photo to add to your collection....


- Week 14 Bowl Forecast
There’s one week remaining until official bowl bids are announced, but we wanted to see ... more

- Q&A; with Arizona State's James Harden
Arizona State guard James Harden has a lot to learn about being an elite college basketbal... more

- NBA Power Rankings
Dwight Howard and the Orlando Magic have crept up our power rankings after reeling off nin... more

- The Egg Bowl: Ole Miss vs. Mississippi State
Neither Ole Miss nor Mississippi State is a perennial national powerhouse or even SEC cont... more

- NCAA Fantasy Boxscore: Wk 14
This week's look at the numbers features NCAA records, some potential national title match... more