Business eServices Government Visitors Departments
BOCC graphic banner

  Meet The Board
  Speaker Registration
  Advisory Boards
  State of the County
  BOCC Clerk to the Board
  BOCC District Maps
  BOCC Environmental Policy
  Vision 2015
  2008 NACo Achievement Awards


The nine-member Board of County Commissioners is the governing body of Mecklenburg County.  Elections are held in November of even-numbered years, and Commissioners elect a chairman and vice-chairman during their first meeting each December.  Six Commissioners are elected by district and three at-large Commissioners are elected by county-wide vote.  Meeting Information


BOCC Group

Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners (pictured left to right)
Front row: Vilma Leake (District 2), Harold Cogdell, Jr. (Vice-Chairman, At-Large),
Jennifer Roberts (Chairman, At-Large), Dan Murrey (At-Large), Karen Bentley (District 1).
Back Row: George Dunlap (District 3), Dumont Clarke (District 4),
Bill James (District 6), Neil Cooksey (District 5).


Regular meetings of the Board are generally held the first and third Tuesdays of each month beginning at 6 p.m. in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is my Commissioner?  Use the Address Information Center to locate all your representatives.

Where is my district?  View the map of County Commission districts.


The Board's major responsibilities include adopting the annual County budget, setting the County property tax rate, and assessing and establishing priorities on the many community needs, especially those related to health, education, welfare, mental health and the environment. The Board also makes appointments to citizen advisory committees.

Print This Page
Plain Text View
Site Help
Events Calendar
Send Feedback



Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center
11th floor
600 East 4th Street
Charlotte NC 28202


Watch meetings online:

Legal Information 2008
Mecklenburg County,
North Carolina
"Official Mecklenburg County Government Web Site"