

## **News Release**

October 19, 2007

## Parkland County Election Results for 2007

The new Council for Parkland County following the October 15<sup>th</sup> Municipal Election is:

Mayor Rob Weideman

Councillor Jo Szady - Division One

Councillor Pat Brennan - Division Two

Councillor Clifford Goerz - Division Three

Councillor Darrell Hollands - Division Four

Councillor Ken Darby - Division Five

Councillor Tracy Melnyk - Division Six

Following the October 15<sup>th</sup> municipal election process, Parkland County conducted three vote re-counts at the request of candidates. The re-counts included the Mayoral, Division Two and Division Three ballots and were completed by Parkland County's Returning Officer. In all three cases, the original results were upheld.

Voter turn-out within the County was 24.05%, with a total of 5,226 residents casting ballots at one of 23 civic polling stations throughout the municipality or four advance polling stations.

Council will be sworn-in during a ceremony on October 22<sup>nd</sup>.

-30-

For more information, please contact:

Krista Rivet
Communications Coordinator'
Parkland County
780-968-8432