Aurealis Awards - Home
Aurealis Awards - About Us
Aurealis Awards - Rules and Conditions
Aurealis Awards - Nomination Forms
Aurealis Awards - How to enter
Aurealis Awards - Nominated works
Aurealis Awards - Finalists
Aurealis Awards - Judges
Aurealis Awards - Winners
Aurealis Awards - FAQ
Aurealis Awards - Contact Us
Aurealis Awards - Winners

Download a complete history of Aurealis Award winners.
WORD (1.1Mb) / PDF (712k)

The Aurealis Awards have a significant history behind them now. Since the Awards' first ceremony, both the field of literature and the vibrancy of the Australian speculative fiction community have grown substantially. This list of past winners and finalists is not only a great guide to a basic bookshelf selection of the best Australian works, it is also a useful survey of more than a decade's worth of signficant topics and themes, a who's who of the genre locally and the growth of the Australian publishing industry's commitment to the genre.

We make every effort to keep this list accurate and up to date, however if you do spot an error, please contact the Aurealis Awards Coordinator via email

Congratulations to the 2008 Aurealis Award winners, listed below.


Download a PDF file of the winners: PDF(101k)

best science fiction novel

K A Bedford, Time Machines Repaired While-U-Wait, Edge Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing

best science fiction short story

Simon Brown, ‘The Empire’, Dreaming Again, Harper/Voyager

best fantasy novel

Alison Goodman, The Two Pearls of Wisdom, HarperCollins

best fantasy short story

Cat Sparks, ‘Sammarynda Deep’, Paper Cities, Senses 5 Press

best horror novel

John Harwood, The Seance, Jonathan Cape (Random House Australia)

best horror short story

Kirstyn McDermott, ‘Painlessness’, Greatest Uncommon Denominator (GUD), #2

best anthology

Jonathan Strahan (editor), The Starry Rift, Viking Children's Books

best collection

Sean Williams & Russell B Farr (editor), Magic Dirt: The Best of Sean Williams, Ticonderoga Publications

best illustated book/graphic novel

Shaun Tan, Tales From Outer Suburbia, Allen & Unwin

best young adult novel

Melina Marchetta, Finnikin of the Rock, Viking Penguin

best young adult short story

Trent Jamieson, ‘Cracks’, Shiny, #2

best children’s novel

Emily Rodda, The Wizard of Rondo, Omnibus Books

best children’s illustrated work/picture book

Richard Harland & Laura Peterson (illustrator), Escape!, Under Siege, Race to the Ruins, The Heavy Crown, The Wolf Kingdom series, Omnibus Books

Peter McNamara Convenors' Award for Excellence

Jack Dann


Judges Reports

These reports are available to download as pdf files.

Science Fiction Novel
Science Fiction Short Story
Fantasy Novel
Fantasy Short Story
Horror Novel and Short Story
Anthology and Collection
Illustrated Book/Graphic Novel
Young Adult Novel and Short Story
Children's Novel and Illustrated Work

Medallions are available for awarded works to use on the next printing edition or on websites. Please contact the Aurealis Awards Coordinator, and you will receive a zipped file containing eps, psd and jpg versions of the artwork.

Aurealis Awards medallions

Aurealis Awards