World Fantasy Convention

2005 World Fantasy Award
Winners & Nominees

2005 World Fantasy Awards Ballot

The WFC 2005 held in Madison, WI, was chaired by Meg Turville-Heitz.
Judges were Alis Rasmussen (Kate Elliott), Jeffrey Ford, Tim Lebbon, Patrick Nielsen Hayden, Jessica Amanda Salmonson.

Life Achievement

winner Tom Doherty
winner Carol Emshwiller


winner Susanna Clarke, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell (Bloomsbury)
Stephen R. Donaldson, The Runes Of the Earth (Putnam; Gollancz)
China Miéville, Iron Council (Del Rey; Pan Macmillan UK)
Sean Stewart, Perfect Circle (Small Beer Press)
Gene Wolfe, The Wizard Knight (Tor, two volumes)


winner Michael Shea, "The Growlimb" (F&SF, 1/2004)
Leena Krohn, Tainaron: Mail from Another City (Prime Books)
Kim Newman, "Soho Golem" (Sci Fiction)
Lisa Tuttle, My Death (PS Publishing)
Gene Wolfe, "Golden City Far" (Flights: Extreme Visions of Fantasy, Roc)

Short Fiction:

winner Margo Lanagan, "Singing My Sister Down" (Black Juice, Allen & Unwin Australia)
Theodora Goss, "The Wings of Meister Wilhelm" (Polyphony 4, Wheatland Press)
Kelly Link, "The Faery Handbag" (The Faery Reel: Tales from the Twilight Realm, Viking)
China Miéville, "Reports of Certain Events in London" (McSweeney's Enchanted Chamber of Astonishing Stories, Vintage)
Barbara Roden, "Northwest Passage" (Acquainted With The Night, Ash Tree Press)


winner Acquainted With The Night ed. Barbara & Christopher Roden (Ash Tree Press)
winner Dark Matter: Reading The Bones ed. Sheree R. Thomas (Warner Aspect)
The Faery Reel: Tales from the Twilight Realm ed. Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling (Viking)
Polyphony 4 ed. Deborah Layne & Jay Lake (Wheatland Press)
The First Heroes: New Tales of the Bronze Age ed. Harry Turtledove & Noreen Doyle (Tor)


winner Margo Lanagan, Black Juice (Allen & Unwin Australia)
Peter Crowther, Songs Of Leaving (Subterranean Press)
John M. Ford, Heat Of Fusion and Other Stories (Tor)
Eileen Gunn, Stable Strategies And Others (Tachyon Publications)
Joe R. Lansdale, Mad Dog Summer and Other Stories (Subterranean Press)
Ian R. MacLeod, Breathmoss and Other Exhalations (Golden Gryphon)
Lucius Shepard, Trujillo (PS Publishing)


winner John Picacio
Kinuko Y. Craft
John Jude Palencar
Charles Vess

Special Award: Professional:

winner S. T. Joshi (for scholarship)
Gavin Grant & Kelly Link (for Small Beer Press)
Sharyn November (for editing)
Gordon Van Gelder (for F&SF)
Terri Windling (for editing)

Special Award: Non-Professional:

winner Robert Morgan (for Sarob Press)
Sandy Auden and Ariel (for
Matthew Cheney (for
Barbara & Christopher Roden (for All Hallows magazine)
Michael Walsh (for Old Earth Books)

Return to WFC Awards Page | Back to 2004 Awards Page | Forward to 2006 Awards Page

Return to WFC Home Page
Join SFF Net!
Web Page Designed by Sharon Sbarsky

All material in this Site is copyright by the World Fantasy Board. All rights on original material revert to the author or artist. Hosted by SFF Net.