ARTS OF UNDATION

Governors' 2002 awards

A new initiative in 2002, this award is a medallion designed by artist Richard Wheeler and will be presented annually in conjunction with the Laureate Awards. The Governors' Award recognises an individual or institution that has contributed in a significant way to the development of the arts and artists in New Zealand.

The recipient of the 2002 inaugural Governors' Award was selected by the Arts Foundation of New Zealand Laureate Panel, comprising Arts Foundation Governors: Roger Hall, Elizabeth Knox, Peter Peryer, Mary–Jane O'Reilly and Gillian Whitehead.





The inaugural recipient of the Governor's Award is the University of Otago. Founded in 1869, and opening two years later with a staff of three professors, the University of Otago has now grown to a staff of around 3,500 with 17,000 plus students and is renown for both its ground-breaking research and the quality of its academic teaching. Under-girding the University's reputation for excellence are deep-rooted traditions that still shape the character and profile of the University today – most notably its long-standing commitment to fostering the arts, which is supported by the philanthropy of private donors. The Arts Foundation of New Zealand and the Governors, in particular, recognised the significant contribution Otago University has made to the arts community through its Burns, Hodgkins and Mozart Fellowships.



The three fellowships were set up through the generosity of anonymous benefactors and have subsequently been funded by additional grants to maintain their value. The three fellowships are:

THE ROBERT BURNS FELLOWSHIP: established in 1958 to commemorate the bicentenary of the birth of Robert Burns and to perpetuate appreciation of the valuable services rendered to the early settlement of Otago by the Burns family. The general purpose of the Fellowship is to encourage and promote the writings of imaginative New Zealand literature. It is attached to the Department of English. (43 recipients to date)

FRANCES HODGKINS FELLOWSHIP AWARD: established 1962 to encourage painters and sculptors in the practice and advancement of their art, to associate them with life in the University, and at the same time to foster an interest in the arts within the University. (35 recipients to date)

THE MOZART FELLOWSHIP: established in 1969 to aid and encourage composers of music in the practice and advancement of their art, to associate them with the life of the University, and at the same time to foster an interest in contemporary music within the University and in the community. (24 recipients to date)

The Arts Foundation also acknowledges Otago University's contribution to the arts through its support of the Southern Sinfonia, the Hocken Library, the Campus concerts programme and Otago University Press, which publishes *Landfall*.





Recipients of the Burns Fellowship are:

1959: Ian Cross; 1960: Maurice Duggan; 1961: John Caselburg; 1962: R.A.K. Mason; 1963: Maurice Shadbolt; 1964: Maurice Gee; 1965: Janet Frame; 1966: James K. Baxter; 1968: Ruth Dallas; 1969: Warren Dibble; 1979: Tim Middleton; 1971: Noel Hilliard; 1972: Ian Wedde; 1973: Graham Billing; 1974: Hone Tuwhare; 1975: Witi Ihimaera, Sam Hunt; 1977: Roger Hall, Keri Hulme; 1978: Roger Hall, Peter Olds; 1979: Michael Noonan; 1980: Philip Temple; 1981/82: William Sewell; 1983: Rawiri Paratene; 1984: Brian Turner; 1985/86: Cilla McQueen; 1987: Robert Lord; 1988: John Dickson; 1989: Renée; 1990: David Eggleton; 1991: Lynley Hood; 1992: Owen Marshall; 1993: Stuart Hoar; 1994: Christine Johnston; 1995: Elspeth Sandys; 1996: Bernadette Hall; 1997: Paddy Richardson; 1998: Michael King; 1999: Michael King, Paula Boock; 2000: James Norcliffe; 2001: Joanna Randserson; 2002: Alison Wong.

Recipients of the Frances Hodgkins Fellowship are:

1966: Michael Illingworth; 1967: Tanya Ashken; 1968: Derek Ball; 1969: Ralph Hotere; 1970: Michael Smither; 1971/72: Marte Szirmay; 1973: Ray Thorburn; 1974: Marilyn Webb; 1975: John Parker; 1976: Ian Bergquist; 1977: Jeffrey Harris; 1978: Grahame Sydney; 1979: Matthew Pine; 1980: Andrew Drummond; 1981: Gretchen Albrecht; 1982: Christopher Booth; 1983: Joanna Paul; 1984: Michael Armstrong; 1985: Dennis O'Connor; 1986: Ian McMillan; 1987: Kendal Heyes; 1988: Julia Morison; 1989: Shona Rapira Davies; 1990: Siegfried Koglmeier; 1991: Christine Webster; 1992: Neil Frazer; 1993: Peter Gibson Smith; 1994: Nicola Jackson; 1995: Jeffrey Thomson; 1996/97: Fiona Pardington; 1998: Shane Cotton; 1999: Seraphine Pick; 2000: Jim Speers; 2001: Ava Seymore; 2002: Scott Eady.

Recipients of the Mozart Fellowship are:

1970/71: Anthony Watson; 1972: John Rimmer; 1973/74: Edwin Carr; 1975: Larry Pruden; 1976/77: Gillian Bibby: 1978/79: Ian McDonald; 1980, 1983: Christopher Cree Brown; 1981: Joohn Elmsly; 1984: Jonathan Besser; 1985: K.J. Kim Dyett; 1986/87: Nigel Keay; 1988, 89: Anthony Ritchie; 1990/91: Martin Lodge; 1992: Bruce Crossman, Gillian Whitehead; 1993: Helen Bowater; 1994/95: Christopher Marshall; 1996: Cheryl Camm; 1997: Jason Kaminski; 1998: Paul Booth; 1999: Harold Anderson; 2000: Ross Carey; 2001: Alison Isadora; 2002: Michael Norris.

