Hotel Booking India
India Travel Info
Site Map
About Us
Gift to India, All India Travel Information
       Talash Home >> Culture Of India >> National Emblem

National Emblem India

The State Emblem of India is an adaptation from the Samath Uon Capital of Asoka as preserved in the Sarnath Museuip. The Government adopted the emblem on 26th January, 1950, the day when India became a Republic.

In the original of Sarnath Capital, there are four lions, standing back to back, mounted on an abacus with a frieze carrying sculpture in high relief of an elephant, a galloping horse, a bull and a lion separated by intervening wheels (chakras) over a bell-shaped lolus. Carved out of a single block of polished sandstone, the Capital is crowned by the Wheel of the Law (Dharma Chakra).

In the State Emblem adopted by the Government only three lions are visible, the fourth being hidden from view. The wheel appears in relief in the centre of the abacus with a bull on the right and a horse on the left and the outlines of the other wheels on the extreme right and left. The bell-shaped lotus has been omitted.










Copyright © Talash.com. All Rights Reserved.