Nebula Awards(R) Awards Menu
Author Emeritus
Grand Master
Service to SFWA

Damon Knight Memorial
Grand Master

The title Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master is bestowed upon a living author for a lifetime's achievement in science fiction and/or fantasy. Nominations for recognition as a Grand Master are made by the president of SFWA; the final selection must be approved by a majority of the SFWA® officers and participating past presidents. While it is not a Nebula Award, the Grand Master honor is conferred as part of the Nebula Awards® Banquet.

Until 2002 the title was simply "Grand Master." In 2002 it was renamed in honor of SFWA's founder, Damon Knight, who died that year.

Fiction by Grand Masters is collected in The SFWA Grand Masters series of anthologies.

The Grand Masters

(The year indicates the year that the honor was presented.)

Robert A. Heinlein (1975)
Jack Williamson (1976)
Clifford D. Simak (1977)
L. Sprague de Camp (1979)
Fritz Leiber (1981)
Andre Norton (1984)
Arthur C. Clarke (1986)
Isaac Asimov (1987)
Alfred Bester (1988)
Ray Bradbury (1989)
Lester Del Rey (1991)
Frederik Pohl (1993)
Damon Knight (1995)
A. E. Van Vogt (1996)
Jack Vance (1997)
Poul Anderson (1998)
Hal Clement (Harry Stubbs) (1999)
Brian W. Aldiss (2000)
Philip José Farmer (2001)
Ursula K. Le Guin (2003)
Robert Silverberg (2004)
Anne McCaffrey (2005)
Harlan Ellison (2006)
James Gunn (2007)
Michael Moorcock (2008)



The Bulletin Contracts Home Links
Members' Fiction Members Only Members' Pages Nebula Awards®
Pressbook SF/F News Reading Search
Site Map SFWA® Info Web Staff Writer Beware
Writing Email Addresses of SFWA® Volunteers:
how to contact any department

Except where otherwise noted, content and design copyright © 1995–2008 by Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, Inc. ("SFWA"). Any opinions expressed on the SFWA® site are those of the author, not of the SFWA® organization. SFWA® and Nebula Awards® are registered trademarks of Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, Inc. 50604 visitors have been here since the counter was last reset.