

The Office of the Speaker

The Speaker

Historically, much of the tradition and dignity of the Parliament has centred on the office of the Speaker. References to the Speaker in the English Parliaments date back as early as 1377, when Sir Thomas Hungerford was the first to be called Mr Speaker. The Speaker traditionally came to be regarded as the spokesman of the Commons, before the Sovereign.

In the Queensland Parliament, the Speaker is elected by a secret ballot involving all Members of Parliament. This occurs when a new Parliament meets following a general election. The Government nominee is usually successful due to the Government's majority in the House.

The Speaker's duties can be categorised as ceremonial, procedural and administrative. These duties are in addition to the responsibilities that the Speaker carries as a Member of Parliament representing an electorate.

Ceremonial duties include:

- acting as the representative of the House in its relations with the Crown; and
- acting as the representative of the House in its relations with other authorities and persons outside Parliament.

Procedural duties include:

- enforcing the observance of all Standing Rules and Orders whilst the business of the House is conducted;
- maintaining order in the House;
- putting questions on which Members vote and announcing the results of each vote. The Speaker has a casting vote on a tied vote;

- voting in the House in his/her capacity as a Member of the Legislative Assembly, when not acting as the presiding officer of the House. This would occur in a hung Parliament, when the Deputy Speaker was occupying the Speaker's Chair and a division was called. The Speaker's vote would be required to carry the vote for the Government; and
- issuing by-election writs.

Administrative duties include heading the Parliamentary Service. The Parliamentary Service provides procedural, information, reporting, research and other support services to the Members of Parliament to assist them in fulfilling their constitutional and parliamentary responsibilities.





The Office of the Speaker

Prayers and Acknowledgement of **Traditional Owners**

During the first session of the First Parliament, Henry Jordan, Member for Brisbane North, introduced a motion to open each sitting day of Parliament with a prayer. The motion was approved 20 votes to 2. At the commencement of each sitting day, the Speaker opens proceedings with the prayer, and then acknowledges the traditional owners of the land upon which Parliament is assembled and the custodians of the sacred lands of Oueensland.

Present Speaker of Queensland The Honourable John Mickel MP

John Mickel has been the Member for Logan since 1998.

Prior to being elected as Speaker, Mr Mickel was the Minister for Transport, Trade, Employment and Industrial Relations from September 2007 to March 2009 and Minister for State Development, **Employment and Industrial Relations from** September 2006 to September 2007.

Mr Mickel was elevated to the Cabinet as Minister for Environment in February 2004 and appointed Minister for Energy in August 2004. He gained the additional portfolio of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Policy in March 2005.

Before entering the Queensland Parliament Mr Mickel worked as a Senior Policy Advisor at a State and Federal level. He has formerly been a university lecturer, tutor and teacher and holds a Masters Degree as well as Degrees in Arts and Education

Personal

- Born in Murgon, Queensland, 1953
- · Married, three children
- Member of the Australian Labor Party since 1979

List of Speakers of the Queensland Parliament from 1859

Gilbert ELIOTT CMG
Arthur MACALISTER
Frederick Augustus FORBES
William Henry WALSH
Henry Edward KING
William Henry GROOM
Albert NORTON
Sir Alfred Sandlings COWLEY
Sir Arthur MORGAN
Sir Alfred Sandlings COWLEY
John LEAHY
Joshua Thomas BELL
William Drayton ARMSTRONG
William McCORMACK
William LENNON
William BERTRAM
Charles TAYLOR
George POLLOCK
Edward Joseph HANSON
Samuel John BRASSINGTON
John Henry MANN
Sir Alan Roy FLETCHER
Sir David Eric NICHOLSON
William Horace LONERGAN
James Edward Hiram HOUGHTON
Selwyn John MULLER
John Herbert WARNER
Kevin Rowson LINGARD
Lionel William POWELL
Kevin Rowson LINGARD
Demetrios FOURAS
Neil John TURNER
Raymond Keith HOLLIS
Anthony McGRADY
Michael Francis REYNOLDS AM
Reginald John (John) MICKEL