

At the 2007 Annual Meeting, caBIGTM recognized individuals, teams and organizations who have made significant contributions over the past year. Dr. John Niederhuber, Director of the National Cancer Institute, and Dr. Ken Buetow, NCI Associate Director for Bioinformatics and Information Technology, presented the awards at the February 5, 2007 plenary session at the Wardman Park Marriott in Washington, D.C.

Outstanding Achievement Award Winners

Outstanding Achievement Award winners have realized significant accomplishments and made important contributions to the caBIGTM Program. Awardees have demonstrated excellence in the areas of project management, product and tool development and adoption, and collaboration. Awardees have also exhibited thought leadership that significantly contributed to the progress of the caBIGTM Program.

The caBIG™ Program is proud to award the following teams and individuals with Outstanding Achievement Awards:

The caGrid 1.0 Developer Team: Dave Ervin, Shannon Hastings, Tahsin Kurc, Stephen Langella, Scott Oster, Joel Saltz (Ohio State University); Bill Allcock, Ian Foster, Jarek Gawor, Raj Kettimuthu, Ravi Madduri, Frank Siebenlist, Mike Wilde (University of Chicago / Argonne National Laboratory); Patrick McConnell (Duke University Comprehensive Cancer Center); Val Bragg, David Wellborn (ScenPro, Inc.); Srini Akkala, Ram Chilukuri, Vinay Kumar, Joshua Phillips (SemanticBits, LLC.); Manav Kher (Science Applications International Corporation [SAIC]); Wendy Erickson-Hirons (Northern Taiga Ventures, Inc. [NTVI])

Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center (and partners): Pankaj Agarwal, Bob Annechiarico, Jamie Cuticchia, Raj Dash, Kimberly Johnson, Patrick McConnell, Salvatore Mungal (*Duke University*); Ram Chilukuri (*SemanticBits, LLC.*) Integrative Cancer Research, Architecture, Vocabularies and Common Data Elements, Clinical Trial Management Systems, Tissue Banks and Pathology Tools, and Strategic Planning Workspaces





Embodying the Vision Award winners have helped to achieve the caBIGTM vision through ongoing activities and multiple program accomplishments that are in alignment with the true spirit and vision of caBIGTM. Awardees have been instrumental in fostering collaboration across workspaces, projects, and institutions.

The caBIG™ Program is proud to award the following teams and individuals with Embodying the Vision Awards:

In Vivo Imaging Core Middleware Development Team: Barla Cambazoglu, Metin Gurcan, Tony Pan, Joel Saltz, Ashish Sharma
Biomedical Informatics Department, The Ohio State University
In Vivo Imaging Workspace

Gene Kraus

Karmanos Cancer Institute
Integrative Cancer Research and Documentation and Training Workspaces

Patrick McConnell

Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center Integrative Cancer Research, Vocabularies and Common Data Elements, Architecture, and Clinical Trial Management Systems Workspaces

Tristan Fiedler

Cold Spring Harbor Data Sharing and Intellectual Capital Workspace

Warren Kibbe

Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center, Northwestern University Clinical Trial Management Systems, Integrative Cancer Research, Tissue Banks and Pathology Tools, and Architecture Workspaces

Tara McSherry

University of Pennsylvania Biomedical Informatics Facility, Abramson Cancer Center Tissue Banks and Pathology Tools Workspace





Jim Buntrock, Chris Chute, Bob Freimuth, Tom Johnson, Steve Sandberg
Mayo Clinic
Vessbylaries and Common Data Floments Workshare

Vocabularies and Common Data Elements Workspace

geWorkbench Project Team: Andrea Califano, Eileen Daly, Aris Floratos, Matt Hall, Bernd Jagla, Kiran Keshav, Manjunath Kustagi, Pavel Morozov, Kenneth Smith, Mary VanGinhoven, John Watkinson, Xiaoqing Zhang Columbia University
Integrative Cancer Research Workspace

Patient Study Calendar Requirements Team: Sharon Elcombe (*Mayo Clinic*); Amy Funkhauser (*Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group*); Paul Courtney (*Dartmouth*)

Clinical Trial Management Systems Workspace

Patient Study Calendar Development Team: Cal Collins, Tom Hickerson, Shai Sachs, Jaron Sampson, Yufang Wang, Jun Xu (*Akaza Research*); Dong Fu, Moses Hohman, Warren Kibbe, Eric Odulio, John Osborne, Rhett Sutphin, Renee Webb, Sean Whitaker, Andrew Winter, Julie Zhu (*Northwestern University*); Ram Chilukuri, Vinay Kumar, Edmond Mulaire, Joshua Phillips, Padmaja Vedula (*SemanticBits, LLC.*) *Clinical Trial Management Systems Workspace*

Kenneth Smith

Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center, Columbia University Architecture and Documentation and Training Workspaces

Jessica Bondy

University of Colorado Cancer Center Documentation and Training and Strategic Planning Workspaces





Mentoring Award winners have demonstrated an in-depth knowledge and understanding of caBIGTM work and are effectively communicating with and assisting others in their area. Many have expertise in caBIGTM's compatibility guidelines and requirements. These awardees have displayed a proven ability to guide developers in implementing the compatibility requirements, including messaging interfaces, CDEs, vocabularies, and information models, necessary to achieve caBIGTM Silver Level compatibility. Other awardees contribute to their colleagues activities within or across workspaces.

The caBIG™ Program is proud to award the following individuals with Mentoring Awards:

Salvatore Mungal

Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center Vocabularies and Common Data Elements Workspace

John Osborne

Northwestern University Architecture Workspace

Bob Freimuth

Mayo Clinic Vocabularies and Common Data Elements Workspace

Tahsin Kurc

The Ohio State University Architecture Workspace

Lewis Frey

University of Utah Vocabularies and Common Data Elements Workspace

Patrick McConnell

Duke Comprehensive Cancer Center Integrative Cancer Research, Vocabularies and Common Data Elements, Architecture, and Clinical Trials Management Systems Workspaces

Rachel Nosowsky

University of Michigan
Data Sharing and Intellectual Capital Workspace





Patient Advocate Award Winner

This year's Patient Advocate Award winner has demonstrated outstanding advocacy of the needs and interests of cancer patients within caBIGTM. In addition, this awardee has made substantial efforts in advancing the progress of the caBIGTM Program.

The caBIG™ Program is proud to award the following individual with a Patient Advocate Award:

Patty Spears

Integrative Cancer Research and Tissue Banks and Pathology Tools Workspaces

