Medals and Awards 2008

Royal Geographical Society with IBG

Advancing geography and geographical learning

HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN has approved the award of the ROYAL MEDALS as follows:

Founder's Medal Professor Julian Dowdeswell

('for the encouragement, development and promotion of glaciology')

Patron's Medal Professor Jesse Walker

('for the encouragement, development and promotion of coastal

geomorphology')

THE SOCIETY'S COUNCIL has made the following awards:

Victoria Medal Professor Linda McDowell

('for research in socio-economic and feminist geography')

Busk Medal Tamotsu Nakamura

('for field exploration in the mountain ranges of west China and Tibet')

Murchison Award Professor Neil Wrigley

('for publications on the economic geography of retail and

consumption')

Back Award Professor Richard Black

('for research contributing to public policy on migration, refugees and

development')

Gill Memorial Award Dr Rachel Pain

('for contributions to social geography and participatory research')

Ordnance Survey Awards

(two awards)

Louise Ellis

Alan Parkinson

('for excellence in teaching geography at secondary level')

Taylor & Francis Award Professor Michael Bradford

(for excellence in teaching and learning in geography in higher

education')

Ness Award David Wright

('for the popularisation of geography among young people')

Alfred Steers Dissertation Prize Hugh Wright

('for the undergraduate geography dissertation judged to be the best in

2007')

Luke Studden

('for a highly commended dissertation')

Area Prize Jessica Graybill

('for the best published article in the journal by a new researcher')

Honorary Fellowship

(two awards)

Lord Chorley

Lord Mark Fitzalan Howard

('for outstanding services to the Society')