International Co-operative Alliance ICA

CA



Rochdale Pioneers Award Prix des Pionniers de Rochdale Premio de Los Pioneros de Rochdale

Ivano Barberini Rochdale Pioneer Laureate 2009



In 2000, the ICA Board established the Rochdale Pioneers Award.

The purpose of this Award is to recognise a person or, under special circumstances a cooperative organisation, having contributed to innovative and financially sustainable cooperative activities that have significantly benefited their membership.

Rochdale Pioneers Award laureates include:

- 2001: Dr. Verghese Kurien (India)
- 2003: Francisco Luis Jiménez Arcila (Colombia) and Lloyd Wilkinson (United Kingdom)
- 2005: Hans Dahlberg (Sweden), Ian MacPherson (Canada) and Yehudah Paz (Israel)
- 2007: Esther Gicheru (Kenya), Prof. Ungku A. Aziz (Malaysia) and Francisco Ceballo Herrero, (Spain)

The ICA Board has decided that the 2009 Rochdale Pioneer Award will be posthumously conferred to Ivano Barberini for his life-long contribution and legacy to the world co-operative movement.



