Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath collection
Record No. |
SC060 |
Main Entry |
Hughes, Ted, 1930-1998 |
Title |
Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath collection |
Dates |
1959-1962 |
Physical Description |
1 cm of textual records. |
Bio/Admin History |
Ted Hughes was born in West Yorkshire, England and educated at Cambridge, obtaining a B.A. in 1954 and an M.A. in 1959. Principally as a poet, Hughes has also written plays and children's stories. Among his many published collections are The Hawk in the Rain (1957), Lupercal (1960), Crow (1970), Selected Poems: 1957-1967 (1972) and Moortown (1980). He was named Poet Laureate of England in 1984. Sylvia Plath was born in 1932; her family lived in Wellesley, Massachusetts when she attended Smith College and graduated in 1955. Plath met and married Hughes while attending Cambridge in 1956. Among Sylvia Plath's collections of poetry are The Colossus (1960), The Bell Jar (1963) and Ariel (1965). She committed suicide in 1963. |
Scope and Content |
The collection consists of letters (1960-1961) written by Hughes to Graham T. Ackroyd. There are also groupings of drafts of Hughes's "Dully Gumption's Addendum", "Fishing at Dawn", "New Moon" and "Out III: Remembrance Day". Additionally, there drafts and fragments of other works (often on the versos of the previous drafts); several are by Sylvia Plath. |
Title Source |
Title based on the contents of the collection. |
Finding Aids |
Box list available. |
Online Finding Aids |
|
Restrictions |
|
Notes |
For other correspondence received by Ackroyd see Henry Miller collection and Alfred Perlès fonds. |
Provenance |
University of Victoria (B.C.). Libraries. Special Collections, collector |
Repository |
|
Names |
Ackroyd, Graham T. Hughes, Ted, 1930-1998 Plath, Sylvia, 1932-1963 |
Related Links |
Page updated: Tuesday September 15 2009