The Hon H Budhrani QC Speaker The Gibraltar Parliament Parliament House Main Street Gibraltar

NOTICE OF MOTION

I beg to give notice that I intend to move the following motion at the next sitting of Parliament:

This House resolves to hereby establish a civic award scheme for the following purposes and on the following terms:

- 1. The award shall be known as the Gibraltar Medallion of Honour and recipients' names will be entered in a roll of recipients to be maintained by the Clerk of the House in terms and manner to be specified by the Government by Notice in the Gazette, and which roll shall be published annually in December in the Gazette.
- The Gibraltar Medallion of Honour will be bestowed by Parliament, by Resolution, to living or deceased Gibraltarians and others who, THIS HOUSE considers have served and contributed to the interests of Gibraltar and its people in an exceptional manner that is particularly worthy of special recognition by this House on behalf of the people of Gibraltar.
- 3. The Freedom of the City of Gibraltar, shall rank higher as a civic recognition than the Gibraltar Medallion of Honour, but every natural person (whether living or deceased) upon whom the Freedom of the City has in the past been, or is in the future bestowed, shall be entered in the Roll of Recipients of the Gibraltar Medallion of Honour.
- 4. Nominations for the Gibraltar Medallion of Honour may be made by any person in writing addressed to the Chief Secretary for initial consideration by the Government. Motions for a Resolution to bestow the Gibraltar Medallion of Honour on any person may be brought by the Chief Minister, who shall consult with the Leader of the Opposition before tabling any such motion. Nominations must contain a citation, of no more than five hundred words, specifying the basis of the nomination.

- 5. Resolutions tabled for consideration by the House must contain a citation, of no more than one hundred words, specifying the basis of the nomination.
- 6. Resolutions to bestow The Gibraltar Medallion of Honour will be approved by the House annually during the months of June or July, and will be formally presented to the Recipients by the Mayor on Gibraltar National Day that year, unless that is not convenient to the Recipient (in which case is may be presented on some subsequent date and occasion).
- 7. Recipients of the Gibraltar Medallion of Honour will be presented with:
 - (1) a specially struck commemorative medallion which will bear on one side an image of the building that contains this House with the Rock of Gibraltar in the background, and on the other side an inscription in the following terms:
 - "Gibraltar Medallion of Honour. Bestowed by the Gibraltar Parliament on behalf of the people of Gibraltar for exceptional service and contribution to the interests of Gibraltar and its people": and
 - (2) a Certificate, signed by the Speaker on behalf of this House in the following terms and form:
 - (3) at the very top of the Certificate there shall be an image of this Parliament with the Rock of Gibraltar in the background and the words "The Gibraltar Parliament."
 - (4) Underneath that, shall appear the words "Certificate of Gibraltar Medallion of Honour"
 - (5) there shall follow the words:

"The Gibraltar Parliament has by Resolution of the House passed on the [date] bestowed the Gibraltar Medallion of Honour

UPON

[Name of Recipient]

For service and contribution to the interests of Gibraltar and its people in an exceptional manner that Parliament considered particularly worthy of special recognition by it on behalf of the people of Gibraltar

NAMELY

[insert the language of the resolution citation]

Dated this [date]

Signed by me [name of Speaker] Speaker, on behalf of and with the authority of the Gibraltar Parliament."

The medallions and certificates shall be produced and provided by the Government.

- 8. On this, the first year, and notwithstanding any other provision of this Resolution, the Gibraltar Medallion of Honour shall be bestowed, posthumously, upon the following persons:
 - (1) Mr Albert Risso, for services to trade unionism.
 - (2) Mr Jacobo Azagury, for services to art.
 - (3) Mr Rudecindo Mania, for services to art.
 - (4) Mr William Gomez, for services to music.
 - (5) Mr Joseph Pitaluga, for public service.
 - (6) Mrs Dorothy Ellicott, for public service and service to heritage.
 - (7) Mr Manolo Mascarenhas, for service to broadcasting.
 - (8) Mr John MacIntosh, for philanthropy.
 - (9) Mr Peter Isola, for services to politics.
 - (10) Mr. Aaron Cardozo for services to Gibraltar.
 - 9. The following past recipients of the Freedom of the City of Gibraltar shall be entered in the Roll of Recipients of the Gibraltar Medallion of Honour: -
 - (1) Gustavo Bacarisa.
 - (2) James Joseph Giraldi.
 - (3) Sir Joshua Abraham Hassan.
 - (4) Sir Robert Peliza.
 - (5) The Rt Revd Monsignor Patrick Devlin.
 - (6) The Rt Hon The Lord Merrivale (Jack).
 - (7) The Lord Bethel (Nick).
 - (8) The Lord Hoyle (Doug).