

January 30, 2010

BY DAVE MCKINNEY Sun-Times Springfield bureau chief

SPRINGFIELD -- With the concluding Democratic and Republican races for governor shaping up as nail-biters, what better time than now to reflect on what made them that way?...

In our unscientific judgment, here are the key moments:

HIGH POINT

After years of disunity, the state Republican Party might want to consider using Dillard's model as a template. Under his campaign tent, Dillard managed to bring together moderate, two-term governor Jim Edgar and conservative firebrand Jack Roeser, who clashed in the 1994 GOP gubernatorial primary and almost never saw eye to eye.

###

Kirk Dillard has received endorsements from community leaders, elected officials, state organizations, Republican committees, & newspapers across the State of Illinois. And the list continues to grow each day, because Kirk Dillard is the candidate with the experience, leadership and commitment who has a plan to put Illinois Back to Work. And he is the candidate who will restore honor and integrity back to the office of Governor.

Jim Edgar, Governor (1991-1999)

Judy Biggert, Congressman 13th Congressional District

Rich Abel, City Attorney, Metropolis

Joe Adamcik, 36th Ward Republican Committeeman, Chicago

Dave Albin, Republican County Chairman, Douglas County

Pam Althoff, State Senator, McHenry County

Cheryl Axley, Former State Senator, Elk Grove Township

Tim Balderman, Mayor, New Lenox

J. Robert Barr, Former State Representative, Evanston

Patti Bellock, State Representative, Hindsdale

Mike Bigger, Board Chair, Stark County

Bremen Township Republican Organization, Cook County

Tim Bukowski, Sheriff, Kankakee County

Bill Black, State Representative, Assistant Minority Leader, Danville

Rich Brauer, State Representative, Springfield

Larry Bomke, State Senator, Springfield

Frank Capuzi, Republican State Central $7^{\rm th}$ District Deputy Committeeman, $26^{\rm th}$ Ward Republican Chairman, Chicago

Richard Chapman, Mayor, Shorewood

Scott Christiansen, Board Chairman, Winnebago County

Roger Claar, Mayor, Bolingbrook, 13th District Republican State Central Committeeman

Bruce Clark, Kankakee County Clerk

Terry Cochell, Assessor, DuPage Township

Percy Coleman, 34th Ward Republican Committeeman

Joe Cook, Mayor, Channahon

Mark Davoust, Kane County Board Member

William Delay, 18th Ward Republican Committeeman, Chicago

Anthony Dini, County Board, Boone County

Laura Kent Donahue, Former State Senator, Adams County

Downers Grove Township Republicans

Christine Dudley, Republican State Central 5th District Deputy Committeeman

DuPage Township Republican Organization

Richard Duran, Mayor, Peotone

Evanston Township Republican Organization

Andy Ezard, Mayor, Jacksonville

John Fahy, County Board, Kane County

Family PAC

Jayson Farmer, Board Chair, Massac County

Bob Fieseler, City Councilman, Naperville

Michael Godzinski, Republican Chairman, Norwood

Elizabeth "Liz" Doody Gorman, Cook County Commissioner, Orland Park

Bob Grogan, DuPage County Auditor

Gwen Henry, DuPage County Treasurer, Wheaton

John Hoscheit, Forest Preserve Chairman, Kane County

Illinois Education Association

Illinois Manufacturers Association

Illinois State Rifle Association

Jim Ingram, Douglas County Clerk

Dan Irving, City Councilman, Peoria

Renee Kosel, State Representative, New Lenox

Mike Kenyon, Kane County Board Member, South Elgin

Brian Krajewski, Republican Chairman, Downers Grove Township

Chris Lauzen, State Senator, Aurora

Bill LeFew, County Treasurer, McHenry

Tom Long, Former Republican Chairman, Madison County

Bill Mayer, Republican Chairman, DuPage Township

Maine Township Republican Organization

Jim Meyer, Former State Representative, Naperville

Karen McConnaughay, Board Chairman, Kane County

Wayne McMillan, Vice Chairman, Joliet Arsenal Authority

Ed Murnane, President, Illinois Civil Justice League

Jack Murphy, Supervisor, Worth Township

Shaun Murphy, Republican Chairman, Worth Township

Irene Napier, Right to Life Activist, McHenry County

National Rifle Association

John Noak, Mayor, Romeoville

Kevin Nolan, States Attorney, Douglas County

Ruth O'Connell, Republican Chair, Wheeling Township

Marty Orr, Mayor, Wilmington

Steve Palmer, Palmer's Restuarant

Bill Peterson, Former State Senator, Supervisor, Vernon Township

Mike Prueter, Republican Chairman, Lisle Township

Scott Punke, Mayor, Eureka

Pat Rea, Bremen Township Republican Chairman

Bob Redfern, Former State Representative, White County

J. Peter "Jim" Roupas, Palos Township

Bonnie Quirke, Right to Life Activist, Lake County

Steve Quiqley, School Board President, Valley View

Dr. Ed Ragsdale, Former Republican Chairman, Madison County

Brian Reaves, Mayor, Lemont

Tim Riggenbach, City Councilman, Peoria

Bradley Rightnowar, Mayor, Poplar Grove

Sandy Rios, WYLL commentator, President Culture Campaign

Jack Roeser, Champion News, Barrington

Tom Roeser, Founder Republican Assembly IL, Chair, City Club of Chicago

Steven F. Rosendahl, Supervisor, Lemont Township

Sangamon County Republican Party

Jeff Scheilke, Mayor, Batavia

Herb Schuman, Former Cook County Commissioner, Palos Township

Colleen Grant-Schuman, Supervisor, Palos Township

Ken Shepro, Republican Chairman, St. Charles Township

Darrel Smith, Republican Chairman, Kankakee County

St. Charles Township Republican Organization

Kristy Koch Stevenson, City Treasurer, Metropolis

Kathleen Sullivan, Founder, CEO Project Reality

Dave Sullivan, Former State Senator, Park Ridge

Dave Syverson, State Senator, Rockford, 16th District Republican State Central Committeeman

Louis Tenuta, 29th Ward Republican Committeeman

Kathy Thomas, Chicago Republican Women's Network

Eric Turner, City Councilman, Peoria

Mike Tyron, State Representative, McHenry County

Union of Operating Engineers, Local 150

Sig Vaznellis, Republican Chairman, Lemont Township

Dave Winters, State Representative, Rockford

Grant Wherli, City Council, Naperville

Mark Wissing, Republican Chairman, Geneva Township, Kane County

Bill Wyatt, County Board, Kane County

Newspaper endorsements:















Rockford Register Star



PioneerLocal Herald-News