Print RSS Sign-Up for Insider

Haier Shooting Stars Set Record At Dream Factory Friday Night

Utah's Andre Ingram won the three-point shootout.
Johnny Vy/Getty Images/NBAE

DALLAS, Feb. 12, 2010 Dar Tucker of the Los Angeles D-Fenders, Andre Ingram of the Utah Flash, and the NBA D-League Haier Shooting Stars team of Pat Carroll (Iowa Energy), Trey Gilder (Maine Red Claws) and Carlos Powell (Albuquerque Thunderbirds) all came away victorious at the third annual NBA D-League Dream Factory Friday Night presented by Haier, which took place on Center Court at NBA Jam Session presented by adidas at the Dallas Convention Center as part of NBA All-Star festivities.

The action-packed evening featured a game of Three Point Competition, a Slam Dunk Competition and the inaugural NBA D-League Haier Shooting Stars competition.

In the inaugural NBA D-League Haier Shooting Stars competition, the trio of Carroll, Gilder and Powell set a Haier Shooting Stars record with a time of 15.6 seconds to complete all six shots in the first round. They took on a team of Brian Butch (Bakersfield Jam), Desmon Farmer (Reno Bighorns) and Donell Taylor (Idaho Stampede) in the final round, eventually sinking all six shots in 50.3 seconds to beat their opponent's 1:13 time.

The Slam Dunk Competition got the night off to an electric start when Tucker earned perfect scores on each of his four dunks en route to being crowned NBA D-League Slam Dunk Champion for 2010. To get there, Tucker squared off against Thunderbird Tony Danridge, Alonzo Gee of the Austin Toros and Gilder. Tucker and Gee advanced to the final round, while Danridge and Gilder were eliminated after one. Tucker set the tone in the finals with his third perfect 50 with a double-pump reverse jam, while Gee countered with a reverse windmill slam. With their second dunks, Gee stuffed it with one hand from the left side but Tucker showcased his leaping ability, using Jam center Brian Butch as an obstacle, jumping over the seven-footer to record his fourth perfect 50 of the night to finish the night with a perfect 200 points.

In the Three-Point Shooting Competition, the night's second event, Utah's Ingram defeated the reigning Three-Point Shooting Champion, Bakersfield's Blake Ahearn by a score of 39 to 37. Ingram advanced to the finals having secured an 18 in the first round, while Ahearn earned his trip to the final round by scoring 20 in the first round. Fort Wayne's Rob Kurz and Springfield's Morris Almond finished with 15 and nine points in the first round, respectively.

NBA D-League action continues from Jam Session on Saturday afternoon at 3 p.m. ET as the NBA D-League's top 20 prospects put their skills to the test on Center Court in the fourth annual NBA D-League All-Star Game. The game will air live on NBA TV.