Same time next year? Parting gift Harsh reality Power play Sorry, fellas Title tussle Blue heaven! Stay out! What we really wanted Chin up

All-Conference teams and awards

Jeff Goodman is a senior college basketball writer for Check out his blog on, Good 'n Plenty.
Updated Mar 9, 2010 2:23 AM ET
We’ll unveil the All-American teams tomorrow, but we figured we’d start with a rundown of the conference awards.

Here’s an all-league team for each BCS conference and a Player of the Year and Coach of the Year for the rest of the country.


Player of the Year
: Greivis Vasquez, 6-6, G, Sr., Maryland
Freshman of the Year: Derrick Favors, 6-9, C, Georgia Tech
Coach of the Year: Gary Williams, Maryland

First-Team All-League

F – Kyle Singler, 6-8, Jr., Duke
F – Al-Farouq Aminu, 6-9, Soph., Wake Forest
C – Trevor Booker, 6-8, Sr., Clemson
G – Greivis Vasquez, 6-6, Sr., Maryland
G – Jon Scheyer, 6-5, Sr., Duke


Player of the
Year: Wes Johnson, 6-7, SF, Jr., Syracuse
Freshman of the Year: Brandon Triche, 6-4, PG, Fr., Syracuse
Coach of the Year: Jim Boeheim, Syracuse

First-Team All-League

F - Wes Johnson, 6-7, Jr., Syracuse
F - Da’Sean Butler, 6-7, Sr., West Virginia
F – Lazar Hayward, 6-6, Sr., Marquette
C - Greg Monroe, 6-11, Soph., Georgetown
G - Dominique Jones, 6-4, Jr., South Florida
G - Scottie Reynolds, 6-2, Sr., Villanova

BIG 12

Player of the Year
: Sherron Collins, 5-11, G, Sr., Kansas
Freshman of the Year: Alec Burks, 6-6, G, Colorado
Coach of the Year: Frank Martin, Kansas State

First-Team All-League

F - Damion James, 6-7, Sr., Texas
F - James Anderson, 6-6, Jr., Oklahoma State
C - Cole Aldrich, 6-11, Jr., Kansas
G - Sherron Collins, 5-11, Sr., Kansas
G – Denis Clemente, 6-0, Sr., Kansas State


Player of the Year
: Evan Turner, 6-7, G, Jr., Ohio State
Freshman of the Year: Christian Watford, 6-9, F, Indiana
Coach of the Year: Bo Ryan, Wisconsin

First-Team All-League

F – Robbie Hummel, 6-7, Jr., Purdue
F – John Shurna, 6-8, Soph., Northwestern
C – JaJuan Johnson, 6-10, Jr., Purdue
G – Evan Turner, 6-7, Jr., Ohio State
G – Kalin Lucas, 6-0, Jr., Michigan State


Player of the Year
: Quincy Pondexter, 6-6, F, Sr., Washington
Freshman of the Year: Derrick Williams, 6-8, F, Fr., Arizona
Coach of the Year: Herb Sendek, Arizona State

First-Team All-League

F – Quincy Pondexter, 6-6, Sr., Washington
F – Landry Fields, 6-7, Sr., Stanford
C – Derrick Williams 6-8, Fr., Arizona
G – Jerome Randle, 5-10, Sr., California
G – Patrick Christopher, 6-5, Sr., California


Player of the Year
: John Wall, 6-3, PG, Fr., Kentucky
Freshman of the Year: John Wall
Coach of the Year: Kevin Stallings, Vanderbilt

First-Team All-League

F – Jeffery Taylor, 6-7, Soph., Vanderbilt
F – Jarvis Varnado, 6-9, Sr., Mississippi State
C – DeMarcus Cousins, 6-11, Fr., Kentucky
G – John Wall, 6-3, PG, Fr., Kentucky
G – Devan Downey, 5-10, Sr., South Carolina


Player of the Year
: Marqus Blakely, 6-7, F, Sr., Vermont
Coach of the Year: Steve Pikiell, Stony Brook


Player of the Year
: Adnan Hodzic, 6-9, C, Jr., Lipscomb
Coach of the Year: Robbie Laing, Campbell


Player of the Year
: Jordan Crawford, 6-4, G, Soph., Xavier
Coach of the Year: Fran Dunphy, Temple


Player of the Year
: Damian Lillard, 6-2, G, Soph., Weber State
Coach of the Year: Tad Boyle, Northern Colorado


Player of the Year
: Artsiom Parakhouski, 6-11, C, Sr., Radford
Coach of the Year: Cliff Ellis, Coastal Carolina


Player of the
Year: Orlando Johnson, 6-5, G, Soph., UC Santa Barbara
Coach of the Year: Bob Thomason, Pacific


Player of the Year
: Charles Jenkins, 6-3, G, Jr., Hofstra
Coach of the Year: Tony Shaver, William & Mary


Player of the Year
: Aubrey Coleman, 6-4, G, Sr., Houston
Coach of the Year: Tony Barbee, UTEP


Player of the Year
: Tyler Cain, 6-8, F, Sr., South Dakota
Coach of the Year: Dave Boots, South Dakota


Player of the Year
: Gordon Hayward, 6-9, F, Soph., Butler?
Coach of the Year: Brad Stevens, Butler??


Player of the Year
: Ryan Wittman, 6-6, F, Sr., Cornell
Coach of the Year: Tommy Amaker, Harvard


Player of the Year:
  Alex Franklin, 6-5, F, Sr., Siena
Coach of the Year: Kevin Willard, Iona


Player of the Year
: Reggie Holmes, 6-4, G, Sr., Morgan State
Coach of the Year: Todd Bozeman, Morgan State


Player of the Year
: David Kool, 6-3, G, Sr., Western Michigan
Coach of the Year: Geno Ford, Kent State


Player of the Year
: Adam Koch, 6-8, F, Sr., Northern Iowa
Coach of the Year: Gregg Marshall, Wichita State


Player of the Year
: Darington Hobson, 6-7, G, Jr., New Mexico
Coach of the Year: Dave Rose, BYU


Player of the Year
: James Feldeine, 6-4, G, Sr., Quinnipiac
Coach of the Year: Tom Moore, Quinnipiac


Player of the Year
: Kenneth Faried, 6-8, F, Jr., Morehead State
Coach of the Year: Bllly Kennedy, Murray State


Player of the Year
: CJ McCollum, 6-3, G, Fr., Lehigh
Coach of the Year: Fran O’Hanlon, Lafayette


Player of the Year
: Noah Dahlman, 6-6, F, Jr., Wofford
Coach of the Year: Mike Young, Wofford


Player of the Year
: Gilberto Clavell, 6-6, F, Jr., Sam Houston State
Coach of the Year: Bob Marlin, Sam Houston State


Player of the Year
: Keith Benson, 6-11, C, Jr., Oakland
Coach of the Year: Greg Kampe, Oakland


Player of the Year
: A.J. Slaughter, 6-3, G, Sr., Western Kentucky
Coach of the Year: Kermit Davis, Middle Tennessee


Player of the Year:
Garrison Johnson, 6-5, G, Sr., Jackson State
Coach of the Year: Tevester Anderson, Jackson State


Player of the Year
: Luke Babbitt, 6-9, F, Soph., Nevada
Coach of the Year: Stew Morrill, Utah State


Player of the Year
: Matt Bouldin, 6-5, G, Sr., Gonzaga
Coach of the Year: Max Good, Loyola-Marymount

Member Comments

Please note by clicking on "add a comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Use and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator.

CBK Video

Goodman: Stevens staying put Posted: Apr 08, 2010
What out why senior hoops writer Jeff Goodman isn't surprised with...

Duke wins NCAA title Posted: Apr 08, 2010
Hear from the Duke Blue Devils after their 61-59 win over Butler Bulldogs in the...

Fox Sports Store