Carey McWilliams Award Recipients

The Carey McWilliams prize is awarded annually to honor a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics. It carries a \$750 prize. Eligible candidates must meet the criteria laid forth by the first organizing committee. The individual chosen:

- should have a distinguished public service career in newspaper, magazine or broadcast media;
- should, in his or her work, illumine some broad general principles of the social and political sciences;
- may have a background in editorial activities and not necessarily be a working journalist or writer; and
- should illumine certain key elements identified with McWilliams, which include intellectual forthrightness and political independence.
- 2009 Fareed Zakaria, Newsweek International
- 2008 National Public Radio
- 2007 Ronald Brownstein, Los Angeles Times, Washington Bureau
- 2006 Mark Danner, University of California, Berkeley
- 2005 Seymour Hersh, The New Yorker
- 2004 Bill Moyers, Public Affairs Television
- 2003 Adam Clymer, *The New York Times* (Co-recipient) Thomas Friedman, *The New York Times* (Co-recipient)
- **2002** Linda Greenhouse, *The New York Times* (Co-recipient) Janet Hook, Los Angeles Times (Co-recipient)
- 2001 Victor Navasky, *The Nation* Magazine (Co-recipient) William Kristol, *The Weekly Standard* Magazine (Co-recipient)
- 2000 Alan Ehrenhalt, Governing Magazine
- **1999** Dan Balz, *The Washington Post*
- 1998 Richard Reeves, University of Southern California
- 1997 Anthony Lewis, The New York Times
- 1996 E.J. Dionne, The Washington Post
- 1995 Brian Lamb, C-SPAN
- 1994 Thomas Bryne Edsell, The Washington Post
- 1993 Nina Totenberg, National Public Radio
- **1992** Michael Barone, U.S. News and World Report

Carey McWilliams Award Recipients

- 1991 Molly Ivins, Dallas Times-Herald
- **1990** National Journal
- 1989 Lesley Stahl, CBS News
- 1988 Jeffrey H. Birnbaum and Alan S. Murray, The Wall Street Journal
- **1987** Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report
- 1986 Neal R. Peirce, Washington Post Writers Group
- 1985 Jim Lehrer and Robert MacNeil, MacNeil/Lehrer Newshour
- 1984 Murray Kempton, Newsday
- **1983** David S. Broder, *The Washington Post*
- **1982** Richard Strout, *Christian Science Monitor*