THE OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY DEPARTMENT OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING ALUMNI RECOGNITION PROGRAM

The Department of Mechanical Engineering at The Ohio State University has established the Alumni Recognition Program to recognize outstanding graduates in Mechanical Engineering, Nuclear Engineering and Engineering Mechanics. Awards will be presented for professional achievement, service, and entrepreneurship, annually or as deemed appropriate by the Mechanical Engineering Alumni Recognition Committee.

In general, any alumnus who has already received a University, College of Engineering or Mechanical Engineering Alumni Society award will not be considered for one of these awards.

The Professional Achievement Award(s) will be presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves in their chosen professions. This might include, but is not limited to, significant achievements in research, engineering practice, managerial or administrative leadership, and teaching.

The Service Award(s) will be presented to an alumnus who has distinguished him/herself in service to community, the University or society.

The Entrepreneurship Award(s) will be presented to a graduate in recognition of his or her inventiveness in developing and/or commercializing a new product, process, or service.

The "Alumni Recognition" form should be completed for each nominee no later than February 26, 2010 and sent with the nomination package to the Chairperson of the Department of Mechanical Engineering. Electronic submission is encouraged but is not mandatory. The nomination package should include, but is not limited to, the following information as applicable with emphasis varied based on the individual:

- Educational background
- Positions held with corresponding dates
- Achievements
- Civic, community and university involvement
- Awards received
- Technical and professional society memberships
- Bibliography
- Patents
- Other supporting information.

MECHANICAL ENGINEERING ALUMNI RECOGNITION PROGRAM NOMINATION FORM

NOMINEE:	
TITLE:	
COMPANY:	
ADDRESS:	(Street)
	(City, State, Zip)
HOME ADDRESS:	
	(Street)
DHONE, (W)	(City, State, Zip)
PHONE: (W)	(H)
E-MAIL:	
AWARD(S):	Charles Kettering Lifetime Achievement Award Thomas French Achievement Award Ralph Boyer Young Achiever Award Bertha Lamme Feicht Award Marion Smith Service Award E.G. Bailey Entrepreneurship Award Alan Gregory Loofbourrow Business Achievement Award
	(Nominee can be nominated for more than one award.)
SUBMITTED BY	······································
PHONE:	
E-MAIL:	

Send to Dr. Cheena Srinivasan, Mechanical Engineering, The Ohio State University 201 West 19th Avenue, Columbus, OH 43210 srinivasan.3@osu.edu

Mechanical Engineering Alumni Recognition Awards

The **Charles Kettering Lifetime Achievement Award** will be presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves over their lifetimes in their chosen professions. Charles Kettering, a 1904 graduate of The Ohio State University, exemplifies the highest achievements in engineering by his pioneering work with automobiles.

The **Thomas French Achievement Award** will be presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves as educators. Thomas French, an 1895 graduate of The Ohio State University, served as a professor of engineering drawing at his Alma Mater and introduced new teaching methods and authored a popular textbook. He was awarded the Lamme Medal in 1943 for his achievements.

The **Ralph Boyer Young Achiever Award** will be presented to alumni who have risen rapidly in their chosen profession and made significant contributions before the age of 40. Ralph Boyer, a 1930 graduate of The Ohio State University, had achieved Chief Engineer status and contributed significantly to his company while still a young man.

The **Bertha Lamme Feicht Award** will be presented to alumni who have made noteworthy contributions to their chosen professions while overcoming significant obstacles or barriers to the completion of their education and/or obstacles in their careers. Bertha Lamme Feicht, an 1893 graduate of The Ohio State University, was the first degreed female engineer in the United States, and continued her career as a practicing engineer after marriage and while raising her children.

The **Marion Smith Service Award** will be presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to their community, the University and/or society. Marion Smith received his Masters' degree in Mechanical Engineering in 1947 from The Ohio State University. He served OSU for more than 37 years as a faculty member and associate dean of the College of Engineering giving generously of his time to students and alumni.

The **E.G. Bailey Entrepreneurship Award** will be presented to alumni who have invented new products, processes, or procedures that have been successfully manufactured, adapted, or utilized. This award honors E.G. Bailey, a 1903 graduate of The Ohio State University and inventor of the Bailey meter. Bailey left an engineering job to develop and manufacture his meter which dramatically improved boiler efficiency and has been used world-wide.

The Alan Gregory Loofbourrow Business Achievement Award is presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves in their chosen business or industry. Alan Gregory Loofbourrow was a 1925 graduate of the Ohio State University and by 1945 was elevated to Chief Engineering of the Chrysler Division. Continual advances took him to the position of Vice President and Director of Engineering in 1961. He had two further promotions to Vice President in charge of Quality and Reliability and then Chrysler's Vice President of Engineering, from which he retired.