Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Prime Minister’s Biography

Dr. Manmohan Singh is India’s 15th Prime Minister and has been serving his second consecutive term as Prime Minister since May 2009.  

A member of the Upper House of Parliament since 1991, Dr. Singh was first sworn in as Prime Minister in May 2004.  Educated at Oxford and Cambridge universities, he served as Finance Minister from 1991 to 1996.  During 1996-2004, he was Leader of Opposition in the Upper House of Parliament.