2004-05 VHSL STATE DEBATE TOURNAMENT RESULTS

GROUP A AND AA

CLASSIC

First

COURTLAND

Sarah Jones

Liz Lauzon

Second BROAD RUN

Leah Taylor

Alexandra Williams

Semifinalist POTOMAC FALLS

Kelly McCain Amy Gorrell

Semifinalist STONE BRIDGE

Lauren Fox

Elizabeth Magnotti

CONTEMPORARY

First STONE BRIDGE

Paul Gottschling Matthew Struth

Second STONE BRIDGE

Lauren Holohan Chris Sardo

Third BLACKSBURG

Nitin Kapania Andrew Squires

Fourth BRUTON

Dan Marcus David Petkofsky

Outstanding Group A Classic Team

JOHN BATTLE Laura Blankenship Junei Hunniecutt

Outstanding Group A Contemporary Team

JOHN BATTLE Thomas McAvin Rachel Miller LINCOLN-DOUGLAS

Group A

First - Amara Tiebout - Auburn

Second - Carolyn Brown - Woodrow Wilson

Third – Belinda Stuart – Floyd County Fourth – Alex Vaillant – Madison County

Group AA

First – Anna Hammock – Waynesboro Second – April Crewson – Stone Bridge Semifinalist – Ann Vu – Blacksburg

Semifinalist – Stuart Wood – Turner Ashby

SPEAKER RESULTS

Classic

First – Leah Taylor – Broad Run Second – Amy Gorrell – Potomac Falls

Third – Tina Wang – York

Contemporary

First – Chris Sardo – Stone Bridge

Second – Lauren Holohan – Stone Bridge Third – Matthew Struth – Stone Bridge

GROUP A TEAM RESULTS

First Auburn
Second John Battle
Third Madison County
Fourth Wilson Memorial

Fifth (tie) Central-Woodstock

Floyd County

GROUP AA TEAM RESULTS

First Stone Bridge
Second Broad Run
Third (tie) Courtland

Waynesboro Blacksburg

Fifth Blacksburg
Sixth Dominion
Seventh (tie) Potomac Falls

Turner Ashby

2004-05 VHSL STATE DEBATE TOURNAMENT RESULTS

GROUP AAA

CLASSIC

First

CHANTILLY

Victoria Chung Michelle Yuan

Second

TALLWOOD

Elizabeth Charboneau

Caitlin Goldblatt

Semifinalist

CLOVER HILL Omer Shahab Jordan Wilson

Semifinalist

YORKTOWN **Emily Burke**

Kathleen Fransen

CONTEMPORARY

First YORKTOWN

> Claire Reifsnyder **Audrey Soffer**

Second MILLS GODWIN

> Mani Kamineni Shashank Sharma

MASSAPONAX Semifinalist

Stephanie Slankard

Rebecca Smith

OSCAR SMITH Semifinalist

> Chris Grav Andrew Leber

LINCOLN-DOUGLAS

First - Caitlin Halpern - W. T. Woodson Second - Sarah Hostetter - Princess Anne Semifinalist - Andrew Wansley - Lake Braddock

Semifinalist - David Oxley - Stafford

SPEAKER RESULTS

Classic

First – Victoria Chung – Chantilly

Second - Crystal Richardson - Massaponax

Third - Caitlin Goldblatt - Tallwood

Contemporary

First – Claire Reifsnyder – Yorktown Second - Rebecca Smith - Massaponax Third - Spencer Mobley - Clover Hill

TEAM RESULTS

First Thomas Edison Second Yorktown Third (tie) Chantilly

W. T. Woodson

Fifth Westfield Mills Godwin Sixth (tie) Princess Anne

Tallwood

2004-05 VHSL STUDENT CONGRESS RESULTS

GROUP A

First Naomi Huntington – Auburn

Second Greg Wells – Madison County

Third William French – Central-Woodstock

Fourth Jim Thompson – Madison County

Fifth Karrin Temple – Madison County

Sixth Briana Paxton – Central-Woodstock

Outstanding Senator as voted by the Chamber: Liam De Los Reyes – Wilson Memorial

GROUP AA

First Josh Berman – Broad Run

Second Tim Berman – Broad Run

Third Colston Reid – Dominion

Fourth Hal Smith – Charlottesville

Fifth (tie) Jeanne Jeong – Broad Run

Zaki Albarzinji - Potomac Falls

Outstanding Senator as voted by the Chamber: Colston Reid - Dominion

GROUP AAA

First Bronwyn Flores – Thomas Edison

Second Nataliya Plotnitskaya – Westfield

Third Brittney Walker – Thomas Edison

Fourth Lauren Burt – Westfield

Fifth Stephen Pierce – Chantilly

Sixth Kavika Dilawari – West Springfield

Outstanding Senator as voted by the Thomas Jefferson Chamber: Bronwyn Flores – Thomas Edison

Outstanding Senator as voted by the James Madison Chamber: Stephen Pierce - Chantilly