Contact: Jessica Holahan (203) 432-0971 jessica.holahan@yale.edu

## Louise Glück Chooses Katherine Larson as 2010 Yale Younger Poet

New Haven—Yale University Press is pleased to announce a winner in the 2010 *Yale Series of Younger Poets* competition. The judge, Pulitzer Prize-winner and former U.S. Poet Laureate Louise Glück, has chosen Katherine Larson's manuscript, **Radial Symmetry**. Yale University Press will publish Larson's book in April 2011. The manuscript is Glück's eighth selection as judge. Her previous picks include <u>The Cuckoo</u> by Peter Streckfus, <u>Crush</u> by Richard Siken, <u>Green Squall</u> by Jay Hopler, <u>Frail-Craft</u> by Jessica Fisher, <u>The Earth in the Attic</u> by Fady Joudah, <u>It Is Daylight</u> by Arda Collins, and, most recently, <u>Juvenilia</u> by Ken Chen (To be published April 20<sup>th</sup>, 2010).

Katherine Larson is a poet, research scientist and field ecologist. She is the recipient of a Ruth Lilly Poetry Fellowship. Her poems have appeared or are forthcoming in *Poetry, The Massachusetts Review* and *Notre Dame Review*, among other places. She lives in Arizona.

Awarded since 1919, the Yale Series of Younger Poets prize celebrates the most prominent new American poets by bringing the work of these artists to the attention of the larger public. Earlier winners of the prize include such talents as Adrienne Rich, John Ashberry, and Robert Hass. It is the longest-running poetry prize in the United States.