Finalists have been announced since 1980.


2010 Next to Normal, music by Tom Kitt, book and lyrics by Brian Yorkey

A powerful rock musical that grapples with mental illness in a suburban family and expands the scope of subject matter for musicals.

More details
2009 Ruined by Lynn Nottage

A searing drama set in chaotic Congo that compels audiences to face the horror of wartime rape and brutality while still finding affirmation of life and hope amid hopelessness.

More details
2008 "August: Osage County" by Tracy Letts
More details
2007 Rabbit Hole by David Lindsay-Abaire
More details
2006 by No Award

No award.

More details
2005 Doubt, a parable by John Patrick Shanley
More details
2004 I Am My Own Wife by Doug Wright
More details
2003 Anna in the Tropics by Nilo Cruz
More details
2002 Topdog/Underdog by Suzan-Lori Parks
More details
2001 Proof by David Auburn
More details
2000 Dinner With Friends by Donald Margulies
More details
1999 Wit by Margaret Edson
More details
1998 How I Learned to Drive by Paula Vogel
More details
1997 No award.

No award.

More details
1996 Rent by the late Jonathan Larson
More details
1995 The Young Man From Atlanta by Horton Foote
More details
1994 Three Tall Women by Edward Albee
1993 Angels in America: Millennium Approaches by Tony Kushner
1992 The Kentucky Cycle by Robert Schenkkan
1991 Lost in Yonkers by Neil Simon
1990 The Piano Lesson by August Wilson
1989 The Heidi Chronicles by Wendy Wasserstein
1988 Driving Miss Daisy by Alfred Uhry
1987 Fences by August Wilson
1986 (No Award)
1985 Sunday in the Park With George; music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, book by James Lapine.
1984 Glengarry Glen Ross by David Mamet
1983 Night, Mother by Marsha Norman
1982 A Soldier's Play by Charles Fuller
1981 Crimes of the Heart by Beth Henley
1980 Talley's Folly by Lanford Wilson
1979 Buried Child by Sam Shepard
1978 The Gin Game by Donald L. Coburn
1977 The Shadow Box by Michael Cristofer
1976 A Chorus Line conceived, choreographed and directed by Michael Bennett, with book by James Kirkwood and Nicholas Dante, music by Marvin Hamlisch, and lyrics by Edward Kleban
1975 Seascape by Edward Albee
1974 (No Award)
1973 That Championship Season by Jason Miller
1972 (No Award)
1971 The Effect of Gamma Rays on Man-In-The-Moon Marigolds by Paul Zindel
1970 No Place To Be Somebody by Charles Gordone
1969 The Great White Hope by Howard Sackler
1968 (No Award)
1967 A Delicate Balance by Edward Albee
1966 (No Award)
1965 The Subject Was Roses by Frank D. Gilroy
1964 (No Award)
1962 How To Succeed In Business Without Really Trying by Frank Loesser and Abe Burrows
1961 All The Way Home by Tad Mosel
1960 Fiorello! Book by Jerome Weidman and George Abbott, music by Jerry Bock and lyrics by Sheldon Harnick.
1959 J. B. by Archibald Macleish
1958 Look Homeward, Angel by Ketti Frings
1957 Long Day's Journey Into Night by Eugene O'Neill
1956 Diary of Anne Frank by Albert Hackett and Frances Goodrich
1955 Cat on A Hot Tin Roof by Tennessee Williams
1954 The Teahouse of the August Moon by John Patrick
1953 Picnic by William Inge
1952 The Shrike by Joseph Kramm
1951 (No Award)
1950 South Pacific by Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II and Joshua Logan
1949 Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller
1948 A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams
1947 (No Award)
1946 State of the Union by Russel Crouse and Howard Lindsay
1945 Harvey by Mary Chase
1944 (No Award)
1943 The Skin of Our Teeth by Thornton Wilder
1942 (No Award)
1941 There Shall Be No Night by Robert E. Sherwood
1940 The Time of Your Life by William Saroyan
1939 Abe Lincoln in Illinois by Robert E. Sherwood
1938 Our Town by Thornton Wilder
1937 You Can't Take It With You by Moss Hart and George S. Kaufman
1936 Idiots Delight by Robert E. Sherwood
1935 The Old Maid by Zoe Akins
1934 Men in White by Sidney Kingsley
1933 Both Your Houses by Maxwell Anderson
1932 Of Thee I Sing by George S. Kaufman, Morrie Ryskind and Ira Gershwin
1931 Alison's House by Susan Glaspell
1930 The Green Pastures by Marc Connelly
1929 Street Scene by Elmer L. Rice
1928 Strange Interlude by Eugene O'Neill
1927 In Abraham's Bosom by Paul Green
1926 Craig's Wife by George Kelly
1925 They Knew What They Wanted by Sidney Howard
1924 Hell-Bent Fer Heaven by Hatcher Hughes
1923 Icebound by Owen Davis
1922 Anna Christie by Eugene O'Neill
1921 Miss Lulu Bett by Zona Gale
1920 Beyond the Horizon by Eugene O'Neill
1919 (No Award)
1918 Why Marry? by Jesse Lynch Williams
1917 (No Award)


2010 The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Deity by Kristoffer Diaz

A play invoking the exaggerated role-playing of professional wrestling to explore themes from globalization to ethnic stereotyping, as the audience becomes both intimate insider and ringside spectator.

2010 Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo by Rajiv Joseph

A play about the chaotic Iraq war that uses a network of characters, including a caged tiger, to ponder violent, senseless death, blending social commentary with tragicomic mayhem.

2010 In the Next Room or the vibrator play by Sarah Ruhl

An inventive work that mixes comedy and drama as it examines the medical practice of a 19th century American doctor and confronts questions of female sexuality and emancipation.

2009 Becky Shaw by Gina Gionfriddo

A jarring comedy that examines family and romantic relationships with a lacerating wit while eschewing easy answers and pat resolutions.

2009 In The Heights by Lin-Manuel Miranda and Quiara Alegría Hudes

A robust musical about struggling Latino immigrants in New York City today that celebrates the virtues of sacrifice, family solidarity and gritty optimism.

2008 Yellow Face by David Henry Hwang
2008 Dying City by Christopher Shinn
2007 Orpheus X by Rinde Eckert
2007 Bulrusher by Eisa Davis
2007 Elliot, a Soldier's Fugue by Quiara Alegria Hudes
2006 Miss Witherspoon by Christopher Durang
2006 The Intelligent Design of Jenny Chow by Rolin Jones
2006 Red Light Winter by Adam Rapp
2005 Thom Pain (based on nothing) by Will Eno
2005 The Clean House by Sarah Ruhl.
2004 Man from Nebraska by Tracy Letts
2004 Omnium Gatherum by Theresa Rebeck and Alexandra Gersten-Vassilaros
2003 Take Me Out by Richard Greenberg
2003 The Goat or Who is Sylvia? by Edward Albee
2002 The Glory of Living by Rebecca Gilman
2002 Yellowman by Dael Orlandersmith
2001 The Play About the Baby by Edward Albee
2001 The Waverly Gallery by Kenneth Lonergan
2000 King Hedley II by August Wilson
2000 In the Blood by Suzan-Lori Parks
1999 Running Man by Cornelius Eady and Diedre Murray
1999 Side Man by Warren Leight
1998 Freedomland by Amy Freed
1998 Three Days of Rain by Richard Greenberg
1997 Collected Stories by Donald Margulies
1997 The Last Night of Ballyhoo by Alfred Uhry
1997 Pride's Crossing by Tina Howe
1996 A Fair Country by Jon Robin Baitz
1996 Old Wicked Songs by Jon Marans
1995 The Cryptogram by David Mamet
1995 Seven Guitars by August Wilson
1994 A Perfect Ganesh by Terrence McNally
1994 Keely and Du by Jane Martin (a pseudonym)
1993 The Destiny of Me by Larry Kramer
1993 Fires in the Mirror by Anna Deavere Smith
1992 Miss Evers' Boys by David Feldshuh
1992 Two Trains Running by August Wilson
1992 Conversations With My Father by Herb Gardner
1992 Sight Unseen by Donald Margulies
1991 Six Degrees of Separation by John Guare
1991 Prelude to a Kiss by Craig Lucas
1990 And What of the Night? by Maria Irene Fornes
1990 Love Letters by A.R. Gurney
1989 M. Butterfly by David Henry Hwang
1989 The Piano Lesson by August Wilson
1988 Boy's Life by Howard Korder
1988 Talk Radio by Eric Bogosian
1987 A Walk in the Woods by Lee Blessing
1987 Broadway Bound by Neil Simon
1985 The Gospel at Colonus, conceived, adapted and directed by Lee Breuer; music composed, arranged and directed by Bob Telson.
1985 The Dining Room by A.R. Gurney Jr.
1984 Painting Churches by Tina Howe
1984 Fool for Love by Sam Shepard
1983 True West by Sam Shepard