Vote - Readers Awards
Sunday 19 September 2010
M&H News
Turner Prize to leave London for BALTIC

The Turner Prize will not be held at a Tate venue for the first time in 25 years in 2011 when it heads to the BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art in Gateshead.

BALTIC has welcomed over 3.5 million visitors, since opening to the public in July 2002.Next year BALTIC will become the first non-Tate venue outside the capital to host the prestigious prize after it was decided it will be presented at Tate Britain and at a gallery outside of London in alternate years.

The decision was made following the successful staging of the prize at Tate Liverpool in 2007.

Director Godfrey Worsdale said: "In its short history, BALTIC has become recognised as a gallery where the ideas around new art can be interrogated, debated and engaged with at many levels, and its audiences continue to animate and increasingly inform that dialogue."

He said the Turner Prize embodies that interaction with art and is unparalleled in its ability to project contemporary art into the public arena. Therefore, the chance to host the prize affords the gallery an excellent opportunity to widen and deepen this debate with its visitors.

"Importantly, the collaboration also demonstrates Tate's sincere commitment to fulfil its national role as well as strengthening the partnership between our two institutions," he added.

Situated on the south bank of the River Tyne in Gateshead, BALTIC has welcomed over 3.5 million visitors since opening to the public in July 2002.

The four shortlisted artists will be announced in April 2011. The exhibition will run at BALTIC from 21 October 2011 until 8 January 2012 and the winning artist will be announced at a celebratory event at BALTIC in December 2011.

Last year's winner was Richard Wright. Previous high-profile winners of the prize include: Tomma Abts, Gilbert & George, Antony Gormley, Damien Hirst, Steve McQueen, Gillian Wearing, Rachel Whiteread and Richard Wright.

Nominations the Turner Prize 2010 award are now closed.

Follow MandHOnline on Facebook Follow MandHOnline on Twitter Museums Association Corporate Member