

Contact: Debra Persinger, Ph.D. Executive Director, Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (913) 681-0380 dpersinger@fsmtb.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: October 15, 2009

FSMTB Elects New Leadership

(Overland Park, Kan. – October 15) – The 4th Annual Meeting of the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) was held in Nashville, Tennessee, with representatives from 30 state licensing boards and agencies, schools, and prominent national businesses and professional associations in attendance.

The delegate assembly, comprised of FSMTB member boards, elected Dennis Beye, LMT, and chair of the Arizona State Board of Massage Therapy, as well as Jane Johnson, LMT and chair of the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy to serve on the Board of Directors, replacing Connie Shanks-Knight, LMT, and Christine Kiely, LMT, whose terms had expired. Kevin Snedden, LMT, and Susan Beam, LMBT, were both re-elected to the Board of Directors.

Christine Kiely was elected to fill the one-year position vacated by Patty Glenn, LMP/LMT and executive director of the Oregon Board of Massage Therapists. Glenn's tenure included a three-year span as president of FSMTB and one year as immediate past president. Glenn states, "with a very heavy heart I believe it is necessary to resign my position with the FSMTB Board of Directors in order to focus on the needs of the therapists in Oregon and the Oregon Board of Massage Therapists. I hope that in the near future my time and energy will be freed up and I will be able to find other ways to support the mission and vision of the FSMTB."

Subsequent to the election, Kiely submitted her resignation, apologizing for not being able to serve to the best of her abilities. The one-year position will be filled by Phyllis Salyers, LMT and chair of the Tennessee Massage Licensure Board. Kevin Snedden, chair of the Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage was elected to serve as president; Kathy Jensen, LMT, chair of the Iowa Board of Massage Therapy as vice president; and Susan Beam, LMBT, member at large of the North Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy as treasurer.

According to Snedden, "I am looking forward to another remarkable year ahead for the Federation and I am honored to serve again as president. The FSMTB remains poised and eager to continue our important work as we serve the regulatory community with integrity and transparency and participate in the evolution of the profession as a whole."

The Federation's mission is to support its member boards in their work of public protection, improve communication between states and offer prospects for enhanced licensing reciprocity for the ultimate benefit of safe massage and bodywork practice protecting consumers.

FSMTB Board of Directors

President – Kevin Snedden – Chair, Missouri Board of Therapeutic Massage Vice President – Kathy Jensen – Chair, Iowa Board of Massage Therapy Treasurer – Susan Beam – Former Chair, North Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy Director- Dennis Beye – Chair, Arizona State board of Massage Therapy Director – Jane Johnson – Chair, Georgia Board of Massage Therapy Director – Scott Miller – Chair, Washington Board of Massage Director – Phyllis Salyers –Chair, Tennessee Massage Licensure Board Ex-Officio – Debra Persinger – FSMTB Executive Director

###