UK Independence Party leadership results imminent

Related stories

The results of the UK Independence Party's ballot for a new leader are set to be announced.

MEPs Nigel Farage and David Campbell-Bannerman, economist Tim Congdon and former boxer Winston McKenzie are all vying for the role.

Lord Pearson of Rannoch stood down after only nine months, saying he was not cut out for the job.

Mr Farage, who led the party from 2006 and 2009, is regarded as favourite to take the job for a second time.


  • Nigel Farage MEP
  • David Campbell-Bannerman MEP
  • Professor Tim Congdon
  • Winston McKenzie

The leader of the party in the European Parliament, Mr Farage was injured in a light aircraft crash on 6 May - the day of the general election.

He failed in his attempt to get elected to Westminster in the seat of the Commons Speaker John Bercow.

All 18,000 members of UKIP had a vote in the postal ballot.

The party has long campaigned for the UK to pull out of the European Union, but failed to make its hoped-for breakthrough in May's election.

However, its share of the vote did increase by nearly 1% as it polled more than 919,000 votes.

More on This Story

Related stories

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites

More UK Politics stories


Features & Analysis

Elsewhere on the BBC navigation

BBC © MMX The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.