

up to the present status may be realised at a glance in the paras to follow.

There is no written record relating to tribal history of Arunachal Pradesh except some oral literature and historical ruins lying along the foothills. But some references are available from 'Buranjis' which narrate the relations between Arunachal Pradesh and Assam and influence exercised by Ahom Kings over

the tribal areas. The British came to Assam during Anglo-Burmese War in 1824-26 and occupied it as conquered territory. Between 1826-61, it was kept as a non-regulated area. The post of Chief Commissioner for Assam was created in 1874 and scheduled district regulation was passed during the same year. Till that time, it was a part of Bengal. During British period, Arunachal Pradesh was economically backward and politically fragmented.

This border region, now Arunachal Pradesh acquired an identity of its own for the first time in 1914 when some tribal areas were separated from the then Darrang and Lakhimpur districts of Assam to form North-East Frontier Tract (NEFT). The NEFT was further sub-divided into Balipara Frontier Tract, the Sadiya Frontier Tract and Tirap Frontier Tract between 1914-43. At the time of India's independence in 1947, the present territory of Arunachal Pradesh was under part-B of the Sixth Schedule of the





Constitution as the tribal areas of Assam. Part-B includes NEFT including Balipara Frontier Tract, the Sadiya Frontier Tract, the Abor Hills district, the Mishmi Hills district and the Naga tribal areas. All these districts together were renamed as North - East Frontier Agency (NEFA) in 1951.

The NEFA was reconstituted under North-East Frontier Areas (Administration) Regulation of 1954 into Kameng Frontier Division, Subansiri Frontier Division, Siang Frontier Division, Lohit Frontier Division, Tirap Frontier Division and Tuensang Frontier Division. The Tuensang Frontier Division was later separated from the NEFA in 1957 and merged with newly constituted Naga Hills after creation of a new State of Nagaland.





But because of its strategic importance and the peculiar nature of its problem, the NEFA was scheduled as part of Assam during 1950-65 and its administration was carried out by the Governor of Assam as an agent of the President of India under the Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India.



Subsequently, the responsibility of the NEFA Administration was transferred to the Ministry of Home Affairs in 1965 as per recommendations of the Daying Ering Commission in 1965. Consequently, five divisions of the territory — Kameng, Subansiri, Siang, Lohit and Tirap became five districts.

Considering the recommendations of the Daying Ering Commission, 1965 the North-East Frontier Agency Panchayat Raj Regulation Act was passed by the Parliament and implemented by the Government of India in 1967. As per provisions of this Act, the Agency Council was formed at apex level followed by Zilla

Parishads at district level, Anchal Samitis at Block level and Gram Panchayat at village level. The traditional village councils which were already recognised under the North-East Frontier Administration of Justice Regulation, 1945 were accorded the status of Gram Panchayats.

The NEFA was upgraded to Union Territory and renamed as Arunachal





Pradesh on 20th January, 1972 in pursuance of the North-East Frontier Areas Reorganisation Act of 1971 by the then Prime Minister of India Late Indira Gandhi. Consequently, the Agency Council was replaced by Pradesh Council which in turn was converted to Legislative Assembly in 1975. The first election to 30 members Assembly was held in 1978.

Finally, the Union Territory was replaced by a full-fledged State of Arunachal Pradesh on 20th February, 1987. Late Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi accompanied by Smti Sonia Gandhi







inaugurated the new state. The present strength of members of the State Legislative Assembly is 60. Two Members of Parliament represent the state in the Lok Sabha and one member to Rajya Sabha.

Mythology and Archaeology

Arunachal finds mention in the literature of the Kalika Purana and

Mahabharata as the Prabhu mountains of the Puranas. It was here that sage Parashuram washed away his sin, sage Vyasa meditated, King Bhismaka founded his kingdom and Lord Krishna married his consort Rukmini. The widely scattered archaeological remains at different places in Arunachal bear testimony to its rich cultural heritage. Bhismaknagar in Dibang