#### **IEEE EMANUEL R. PIORE AWARD**

#### RECIPIENTS

2011 - SHAFI GOLDWASSER			
Professor, MIT and Weizmann Institute of			
Science, Cambridge, MA, USA			

"For pioneering work in laying the foundations of modern cryptography and its relation to complexity theory."

# 2010 – NANCY ANN LYNCH NEC Professor of Software Science and Engineering MIT, Dept of EECS, Cambridge, MA, USA

"For contributions of foundations of distributed and concurrent computing."

#### 2009 – DAVID J. DEWITT John P. Morgridge Professor, Univ of Wisconsin, Madison, WI, USA

"For fundamental contributions to the architecture, algorithms, and implementation of innovative database systems."

#### 2008 - RICHARD F. RASHID Senior Vice President, Research, Microsoft Corporation, Redmond, WA

"For contributions to the design of modern operating systems, and for innovation and leadership in industrial research"

2007- RANDAL E. BRYANT School of Computer Science, Carnegie-Mellon, Pittsburgh, PA "For seminal contributions to the field of computer-aided circuit design and verification, including the development and promulgation of ordered binary decision diagrams."

# 2006- ROBERT K. BRAYTON Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA

"For development of the field of logic synthesis from its early inception through industrial maturity."

## 2005 – JACOB A. ABRAHAM Professor Univ of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX

"For contributions to the development of reliable and testable computer hardware systems."

#### 2004 – LESLIE LAMPORT Senior Researcher Microsoft Research, Mountain View, CA

"For seminal contributions to the theory and practice of concurrent programming and fault-tolerant computing."

#### 2003 - GIOVANNI DeMICHELI Professor, Electrical Engineering Dept., Stanford University, Stanford, CA

"For contributions to computer-aided synthesis of digital systems."

#### 2002 – BRIAN RANDELL Univ of Newcastle Newcastle on Tyne, UK

"For seminal contributions to and leadership in computer system dependability research."

#### 2001 - RAVISHANKAR K. IYER Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Urbana, IL

"For fundamental contributions to measurement, evaluation, and design of reliable computing systems."

#### 2000 - WILLIAM M. (VELVEL) KAHAN University of California at Berkley Berkeley, CA

"For contributions to numerical analysis and standardization of floating-point arithmetic."

## IEEE EMANUEL R. PIORE AWARD RECIPIENTS

1999 - NARENDRA AHUJA University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, IL	"For contributions to computer vision and image processing."
1998 - JANAK H. PATEL University of Illinois, Urbana, IL	"For contributions to test generation and computer architecture."
1997 - SHUN-ICHI AMARI RIKEN Wakou-city, Japan	"For pioneering contributions and leadership in neural networks and information geometry."
1996 - EDWARD J. McCLUSKEY Stanford University Stanford, CA	"For pioneering and fundamental contributions to design automation and fault tolerant computing."
1995 - YALE N. PATT University of Michigan Ann Arbor, MI	"For contributions to computer architecture leading to commercially viable high performance microprocessors."
1994 - JOHN L. HENNESSY Stanford University Stanford, CA	"For contributions to quantitative evaluation of computer architectures and the successful implementation of Reduced Instruction-Set Computer (RISC) architecture."
1993 - MAKOTO NAGAO Kyoto University Kyoto, Japan	"For leadership and contributions to natural language processing and computer vision areas."
1992 - HAROLD S. STONE IBM Corp. Hawthorne, NY	"For fundamental contributions to parallel computer technology, and to computer science education."
1991 - JOSEPH F. TRAUB Columbia University New York, NY	"For pioneering research in algorithm complexity, iteration theory and parallelism, and for leadership in computing education."
1990 - ALLEN NEWELL Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh, PA	"For seminal contributions to artificial intelligence."
1989 - PETER A. FRANASZEK IBM Corp. Hawthorne, NY	"For contributions to the theory and practice of coding for contrained channels in digital recording."
1988 - GRACE M. HOPPER (Deceased) Digital Equipment Corp. Washington, DC	"For pioneering contributions in information processing and programming language."
1987 - DAVID J. KUCK University of Illinois	"For contributions to optimizing compilers for supercomputers."

Urbana, ÍL

### IEEE EMANUEL R. PIORE AWARD RECIPIENTS

1986 – DAVID C. EVANS Evans & Sutherland Computer Corp. Salt Lake City, UT AND IVAN E. SUTHERLAND Sutherland, Sproull, & Associates, Inc. Pittsburgh, PA	"For pioneering work in the development of interactive computer graphics systems and contributions to computer science education."
1985 - AZRIEL ROSENFELD University of Maryland College Park, MD	"For fundamental contributions to digital image processing."
1984 - HARVEY GEORGE CRAGON Texas Instruments Inc. Dallas, TX	"For creative contributions and leadership in uniting computer architecture with the inherent capabilities of the integrated circuit."
1983 - NIKLAUS WIRTH Swiss Fed. Inst. of Tech. Zurich, Switzerland	"For creative contribution to programming language and design methodology as exemplified by his development of the Pascal language."
1982 - KENNETH L. THOMPSON DENNIS M. RITCHIE Bell Laboratories Murray Hill, NJ	"For the creation and development of an operating system of high utility, availability, and instructive value, as embodied in UNIX and its related facilities."
1981 - NO AWARD	
1980 - LAWRENCE R. RABINER Bell Laboratories Murray Hill, NJ AND RONALD W. SCHAFER Georgia Institute of Technology Atlanta, GA	"For their contributions to digital speech processing and digital filter design."
1979 - RICHARD W. HAMMING U.S. Naval Postgrad. School Monterey, CA	"For introduction of error correcting codes, pioneering work in operating systems and programming languages, and the advancement of numerical computation."
1978 - J. PRESPER ECKERT, JR. JOHN W. MAUCHLY Dynatrend, Inc., Springhouse, PA	"For the design and construction of electronic digital computers which stimulated the development of the computer industry."
1977 - GEORGE ROBERT STIBITZ Dartmouth Medical School Hanover, NH	"For pioneering contributions to the development of computers, utilizing binary and floating-point arithmetic, memory indexing, operation from a remote console, and program-controlled computations."