HOUSTON (Dec. 15, 2010) – In the words of the famed late-great University of Alabama Crimson Tide football coach, Paul “Bear” Bryant, “It’s still a coach’s game. Make no mistake. You start at the top. If you don’t have a good one at the top, you don’t have a cut dog’s chance. If you do, the rest falls into place.”

American Heart Association and Marathon Oil proudly recognize the men who have stood behind Bryant’s theory by announcing the extraordinary college football coaches who have led legendary teams to victory by announcing the 2010 Paul “Bear” Bryant Award finalists:

  • Chris Ault, University of Nevada
  • Bret Bielema, University of Wisconsin
  • Gene Chizik, Auburn University
  • Mark Dantonio, Michigan State
  • Jim Harbaugh, Stanford University
  • Chip Kelly, University of Oregon
  • Gary Patterson, Texas Christian University
  • Bobby Petrino, University of Arkansas
  • Mike Sherman, Texas A&M University


The winner will be announced live at an awards dinner benefiting the American Heart Association on Jan. 18, 2011 at the Hilton Americas-Houston Hotel and Convention Center in downtown Houston. Celebrating 25 years at this year’s event, The Marathon Oil Corporation Paul “Bear” Bryant Awards is the only college football coaching award voted on after all bowl games are played.  January’s event will also recognize Florida State University’s renowned former coach, Bobby Bowden, as the Bryant Lifetime Achievement Recipient.

“Marathon is honored to once again serve as the title sponsor of the Paul “Bear” Bryant Awards,” said David E. Roberts, Jr., executive vice president of worldwide upstream operations for Marathon Oil Corporation. “The funds raised during this event are invaluable in supporting the American Heart Association’s mission to fight heart disease and stroke, and we are pleased to be able to assist in this effort.”

The Paul “Bear” Bryant Awards honor excellence in coaching while raising funds to fight heart disease and stroke, the nation’s No. 1 and No. 4 killers. Funds raised benefit research, community education and outreach programs for the American Heart Association. For more information, or to purchase tickets or a table for the event, contact 713-610-5026 or visit www.bryantawards.com.

Marathon Oil Corporation is an integrated international energy company engaged in exploration and production; oil sands mining; integrated gas; and refining, marketing and transportation operations. Marathon, which is based in Houston, has principal operations in the United States, Angola, Canada, Equatorial Guinea, Indonesia, Libya, Norway and the United Kingdom. Marathon is the fourth largest United States-based integrated oil company and the nation’s fifth largest refiner. For more information, please visit http://www.marathon.com.

The American Heart Association is the nation’s oldest and largest voluntary health organization dedicated to fighting heart disease and stroke. Our mission is to build healthier lives by preventing, treating and defeating these diseases – America’s No. 1 and No. 4 killers. We fund cutting-edge research, conduct lifesaving public and professional educational programs, and advocate to protect public health. To learn more or join us in helping all Americans, call 1-800-AHA-USA1 or visit www.heart.org.

# # #