logo flag.jpg Stages

 1. Identification
Steps to Register
            a. Create Description
            b. Register Component
         Search Components
 2. Subscription
 3. Stewardship
 4. Graduation
 5. Budgeting
 6. Acquisition
 7. Maintenance
 8. Retirement/Replacement

Download Schema

Welcome to

The purpose of this site and process is to facilitate the identification, discovery, and formation of communities of practice (CoPs) around emerging technology (ET) components and specifications of interest to government agencies. The process consists of eight stages listed in the menu to the left. 

Components and specifications that have been registered and, thus, are at Stage 1 of the process can be discovered via the search feature.  Those that have progressed to Stages 2, 3, and 4 can be seen by clicking on the links to those stages.

This site was chartered by the Architecture and Infrastructure Committee (AIC) of the U.S. federal Chief Information Officers Council (CIOC) and is managed by the AIC's Emerging Technology Subcommittee.  The Subcommittee's charter has recently been revised. Workshops are being conducted on a quarterly basis at the National Science Foundation (NSF). The next one is scheduled for March 15, 2011. The presentations and WebEx recordings of the sessions at the November 30, 2010, workshop are available on NITRD's site. See also the ET Subcommittee's blog.

Contact | XML.Gov | Policies
History, Principles & Authority