BASKETBALL HALL OF FAME ANNOUNCES 20 FINALISTS FOR BOB COUSY AWARD

List of 70 plus candidates down to final 20

JANUARY 12, 2011 – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts announced today 20 finalists for the 2011 Bob Cousy Award. This annual award is given to college basketball's top point guard and is named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic great Bob Cousy. An original list of 70 plus candidates was trimmed by a Hall of Fame appointed, nationally based committee to the below list of 20.

"This list makes up college basketball's elite at the point guard position," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. "These 20 players in contention for the award all have skills that Mr. Cousy would be proud of. The Hall of Fame looks forward to having these players compete for one of college basketball's most prestigious awards."

"We are pleased with our list of 20 candidates that have advanced into the next round of the process," said Ken Kauffman, Chair of the 2011 Bob Cousy Award. "We've got a very competitive field of players in contention for the award and we look forward to moving into the next phase. All of these players are well deserving of the recognition."

The current listing of 20 finalists for the **2011 Bob Cousy Award** will be narrowed down to 10 players by February 3rd and than further to five players by March 3rd. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. This Hall of Fame committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the **2011 Bob Cousy Award** will be awarded at the Hall of Fame's Class Announcement on Monday April 4th in Houston as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included: Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph's), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina) and Greivis Vasquez (Maryland). For more information on the **2011 Bob Cousy Award**, log onto <u>www.cousyaward.com</u>.

(See page 2 for listing of players) Page 2 – Bob Cousy Award Finalists

Kevin Anderson	Richmond
Norris Cole	Cleveland State
Malcolm Delaney	Virginia Tech
Corey Fisher	Villanova
Jimmer Fredette	Brigham Young
DJ Gay	San Diego State
Tu Holloway	Xavier
Scoop Jardine	Syracuse
Brandon Knight	Kentucky
Kalin Lucas	Michigan State
D	
Demetri McCamey	Illinois
Mickey McConnell	Illinois St. Mary's College
•	
Mickey McConnell	St. Mary's College
Mickey McConnell Jacob Pullen	St. Mary's College Kansas State
Mickey McConnell Jacob Pullen Nolan Smith	St. Mary's College Kansas State Duke
Mickey McConnell Jacob Pullen Nolan Smith Isaiah Thomas	St. Mary's College Kansas State Duke Washington
Mickey McConnell Jacob Pullen Nolan Smith Isaiah Thomas Jordan Taylor	St. Mary's College Kansas State Duke Washington Wisconsin
Mickey McConnell Jacob Pullen Nolan Smith Isaiah Thomas Jordan Taylor Tyshawn Taylor	St. Mary's College Kansas State Duke Washington Wisconsin Kansas
Mickey McConnell Jacob Pullen Nolan Smith Isaiah Thomas Jordan Taylor Tyshawn Taylor Kemba Walker	St. Mary's College Kansas State Duke Washington Wisconsin Kansas Connecticut

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the birthplace of basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate, men and women. For more information on these and other upcoming events, please visit our website at www.hoophall.com or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA

Contact:

Greg Procino Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Director, Events and Awards 413-231-5522 gprocino@hoophall.com